Towing with highlander hybrid - Page 6 - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums
Highlander Hybrid The first hybrid SUV from Toyota, the Highlander Hybrid!

 7Likes
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #76 of 202 Old 05-13-2013, 06:11 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: MT
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Well, I have a bit more information. My 2006 does have the transmission cooler, which seems to indicate that it has a towing prep package. It's interesting that the package is not reflected in the VIN or in any of the original vehicle documentation. I'll find out later this week if I need a trailer wiring converter box or not. I ordered the Toyota hitch that comes with appropriate wiring for a vehicle with a towing prep package.
sftorange is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #77 of 202 Old 05-15-2013, 11:16 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: MT
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I installed the Toyota hitch this evening. It was one of the easiest car-related projects I've ever done. The Toyota hitch Part #PT228-69045 is very heavy duty and looks much better than the aftermarket hitches. It installed very easily and fits great.

The wiring included with the hitch is very nice, and includes a grommet to come up through the floor. I did end up needing a converter box, I bought the Tow Ready 118248 wire harness with ModuLite module. I plan to splice the 4-way connector from the Tow-Ready unit directly into the harness that came with the Toyota hitch. This is an added step, but I saved $50 by not buying the Toyota converter box.

I plan to run a 10 gauge wire from my battery, and connect the 4-way plug into a 4-7 way converter setup so I can use the Bargman style plug on my trailer.

The only odd thing about the hitch setup is that it came with a Lexus plug to go in the receiver hitch. I've read that these hitches are the same as those for the Lexus hybrids, so there must have been a mixup.
sftorange is offline  
post #78 of 202 Old 03-12-2014, 08:42 AM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON Canada
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Should I be removing a fuse when towing our 06 HH on a dolly?

We recently towed our 06 HH on a dolly and when we got to our destination and removed the HH from the tow dolly, the ABS, VSC, etc lights were all on. They went away after a minute or two of driving but I was wondering if there's a fuse I should be pulling when towing it on a dolly in order to avoid the lights coming on to begin with.

Let us know. Thanks,
Mike
michelb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #79 of 202 Old 03-12-2014, 10:23 PM
Resident Nutcase
 
sweeneyp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 12,134
Blog Entries: 8
Mentioned: 66 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1251 Post(s)
Thanks: 644
Thanked 1,878 Times in 1,477 Posts
Lifetime Supreme Member
Garage
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
pg 16+ is towing info:
http://www.toyota.com/t3Portal/docum...530U/pdf/4.pdf

Doesn't say anything about a fuse.

However, I hope your car is FWD and your pulling it from the front on the dolly. AWD models can't be pulled via the dolly.

List of Mods ---->>> 2008 FWD Highlander Limited
sweeneyp is offline  
post #80 of 202 Old 03-13-2014, 08:57 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON Canada
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Thanks for the link. Yes, it's a FWD model.
michelb is offline  
post #81 of 202 Old 05-08-2014, 11:21 AM
New TN User
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Towing the the Highlander Hybrid

Could you pls share your experiences in towing with the Highlander Hybrid?

We are thinking about replacing our 07 Sienna AWD have looked at the 14 Highlander (test driven the gas but would like to look into the hybrid).

One factor is that it needs to be able to tow our tent trailer (perhaps 3000 lbs GVW) which we use about 4 - 6x/year between June and oct. Our Sienna has the same tow rating, but wasn't sure if gas or hybrid makes a difference in terms of ability and how well it tows.

Would appreciate some insight from others.
palumpaly is offline  
post #82 of 202 Old 05-17-2014, 07:31 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I tow an 800 pound Sea Doo all the time with no problem at all.
C4S4SS is offline  
post #83 of 202 Old 05-17-2014, 10:23 PM
Resident Nutcase
 
sweeneyp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 12,134
Blog Entries: 8
Mentioned: 66 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1251 Post(s)
Thanks: 644
Thanked 1,878 Times in 1,477 Posts
Lifetime Supreme Member
Garage
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
This is the only post that I know of about towing with a hybrid:

Quote:
Originally Posted by jpntaka View Post
I just had to move from Ohio to Texas with my 08 Highlander Hybrid.
I had a hitch installed at Uhaul and got their biggest trailer, the 12x6 size.
I had a washer, dryer, a lot of furniture and electronics, so the trailer was super heavy.
My MPG went from 27 to 13, but it towed it safely to Texas.

List of Mods ---->>> 2008 FWD Highlander Limited
sweeneyp is offline  
post #84 of 202 Old 05-18-2014, 01:50 AM
Got Pyro?
 
funman1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Roseville, CA
Posts: 6,237
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 806 Post(s)
Thanks: 690
Thanked 601 Times in 513 Posts
Lifetime Supreme Member
Garage
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
What's the reasoning for the hybrid vs gas?

Professional Pyro..
No really; I get paid to blow stuff up...
funman1 is offline  
post #85 of 202 Old 05-20-2014, 06:11 AM
Official TN Member
 
Ben2881's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Whitby,ON, Canada
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Thanks: 7
Thanked 26 Times in 22 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I tow with my '09 HH a couple times a month. 2000 lbs tent trailer, one or two atvs etc. never had a problem. I used to have a full sized pickup with a 350 in it, obviously I do feel a difference between the two.

The fuel economy sucks when towing, but that is true for all vehicles.



This picture was taken after arriving through a horrible snowstorm, I had no problem whatsoever towing through it. (FYI, I do have snow tires.)

2009 Highlander Hybrid
2015 RAM ecoDiesel
2008 CRV (sold)

Last edited by Ben2881; 06-05-2014 at 11:15 AM.
Ben2881 is offline  
post #86 of 202 Old 05-21-2014, 08:45 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
June 2nd planning on towing a GulfStream Visa 19ft Trailer from Toronto to Cedar point with a 2013 HH. (~3000lbs)

Towed Snowmobile Trailers and Boats no problem from here to South River (1 hr north of Huntsville)
cdnbiker is offline  
post #87 of 202 Old 06-03-2014, 07:51 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Fresno CA USA
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I want to tow a 3000 lb tent trailer with my 07 HiHy but the dealer says its impossible to use a brake controller with any hybrid. Sounds like BS to me. Any experience?
Weird Howard is offline  
post #88 of 202 Old 06-03-2014, 08:01 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
The highlander can tow 3500 with the proper class III hitch and a brake controller.

The brake controller is easy to install.

Here are the specs from etrailer for HyH

Mike

http://www.etrailer.com/question-4598.html
cdnbiker is offline  
post #89 of 202 Old 06-04-2014, 12:17 AM
Resident Nutcase
 
sweeneyp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 12,134
Blog Entries: 8
Mentioned: 66 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1251 Post(s)
Thanks: 644
Thanked 1,878 Times in 1,477 Posts
Lifetime Supreme Member
Garage
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Unless they are concerned about the current capacity of the inverter/DC-DC converter that feeds the 12V battery (whichever one it is, I'm not 100% up to spec on the hybrid system) not being able to provide enough current for a brake controller, I see no reason why you can't.

List of Mods ---->>> 2008 FWD Highlander Limited
sweeneyp is offline  
post #90 of 202 Old 06-04-2014, 08:59 AM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Fresno CA USA
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I believe the gorillas at the RV shop went to the wrong wire for the brake signal, which is why ABS, traction control, and regen braking shut down when they powered up the Primus IQ controller. I think need instructions for finding the correct place to tap in for the brake signal.
-Weird Howard
Weird Howard is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Hybrid Forum > Highlander Hybrid

Bookmarks

Tags
2016 , boat , canada , cvt , harness , highlaner , hybrid , hybrid towing , regenerative braking , tow rating , towing , wire

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome