Consolidated tire thread - Page 5 - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums
Highlander Hybrid The first hybrid SUV from Toyota, the Highlander Hybrid!

 7Likes
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #61 of 408 Old 10-03-2008, 07:58 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: amherst, ma
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Tire pressure monitoring problem?

Hi,

Just got my new 2008 HH two days ago. As I rolled out of the dealers lot they said the tire monitor light would go off in a little while. It is still on 200 miles later. When i check the status, the measurements for three of the tires are 35, 35, and 36 cold and the other two read "checking". The nominal cold pressure is 33. What to do? reset the system? are there bad sensors in two tires or maybe they are out of the range of reading?

any suggestions? my dealer is 60 miles away! thanks in advance!
chamb1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 408 Old 10-17-2008, 11:36 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I don't know if this helps, but for some reason my pressure was in the mid to upper 30's when I first got the car. I brought it to the dealer for something else and they said everything was fine. I recently put more air into them and the pressure stays about 40. The cold pressure stays at 33. I would just add a bit more air.
Dixandbub is offline  
post #63 of 408 Old 10-18-2008, 06:45 AM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: amherst, ma
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
tire pressure problem solved...

appantly when the HH arrives from the boat from Japan, the tires are overinflated for shipping purposes. When it gets to the dealer, they are supposed to release the pressure down to 33 psi and then activate the monitoring system. In my case, my dealer did not know about this - maybe this is new with the 2008 HH?

anyway, a bigger dealer that is nearby fixed the problem by activating the system in about 2 minutes...all is well now!

Jim
chamb1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #64 of 408 Old 10-18-2008, 08:29 AM
just a nobody
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: NW corner
Posts: 6,610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 48 Times in 47 Posts
Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
When the vehicle are ship from Japan, all the sensors are in sleep mode, so the batteries in the sensors won't be drained. During the inspection, the tech is supposed to activate them so they will function. Since three of them were actually reading, the tech did try to activate the system but two of them weren't done properly, so the 'checking' message kept coming up.

N.E.O.
new echo owner is offline  
post #65 of 408 Old 10-18-2008, 06:15 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
So what do you guys keep you pressures between. The tires say not to exceed 45 with maximum load. I keep them so when I'm driving normally it is around 40. Cold is about 37.
Dixandbub is offline  
post #66 of 408 Old 10-19-2008, 11:46 AM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Middleton, WI
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dixandbub View Post
So what do you guys keep you pressures between. The tires say not to exceed 45 with maximum load. I keep them so when I'm driving normally it is around 40. Cold is about 37.
Factory spec is 33psi when cold

2008 Highlander Hybrid Limited; Nav, DVD (His)

2007 Volvo XC70 (Hers)

1999 Camry LE (mine, used by my son)
jeffs3820 is offline  
post #67 of 408 Old 11-13-2008, 08:22 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: iowa
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Need New Tires, Which Ones

I have a 2006 HH that needs new tires. I have asked my local tire dealers and searched the internet trying to find what tires are the best for hybrids, (low resistance roll).
I have Michelin LX4 on it now. Great tire but the new ones don't come with a tread warranty and are expensive. I don't want to replace them with a tire that I am going to regret later or one that sucks on the milage.
I haven't found much info, so if you have replaced your tires and have had good luck with your milage then let me know.
mandjstins is offline  
post #68 of 408 Old 11-14-2008, 08:42 AM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: MA
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 23 Times in 22 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
One of the recent issues of Consumer Reports has a report on tires, including rolling resistance.
typesix is offline  
post #69 of 408 Old 11-22-2008, 04:34 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
toyota dealerships (x2) couldn't find any 19" winter tires & couldn't provide any recommendations or options. called every tire place in the phone book. NOTHING for 19" winter tires. finally stumble across this place called BC Auto Design in Richmond Hill. they were able to fit 18" snow tires on my hybrid. apparently the hybrid's calipers are too big for the 17" wheels. very grateful that i got a set of winter tires. last winter's brutal snow fall was a white knuckle experience. anybody skidding in the snow & ice on the all seasons tires? i had some near misses despite the electronics decide to take over.
HiHy2008 is offline  
post #70 of 408 Old 11-23-2008, 01:41 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Markham, Ontario
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
WInter Tires - Check Tire Pressure?

I had a set of 18" Winter Toyo G-02 (245/65R17) installed on my 08 HiHy Ltd. Now the computer is unable to gauge this tire pressure, causing ! symbol on the dash, along with message advising " have dealer check tire pressure" Has anyone else had this problem, or know how to reset or stop this diagnostic?
2JoeBay is offline  
post #71 of 408 Old 11-23-2008, 06:01 PM
just a nobody
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: NW corner
Posts: 6,610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 48 Times in 47 Posts
Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Do you have tire pressure sensors on the winter tires/wheels? Are they registered to the vehicle?

N.E.O.
new echo owner is offline  
post #72 of 408 Old 11-23-2008, 07:37 PM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Middleton, WI
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by HiHy2008 View Post
toyota dealerships (x2) couldn't find any 19" winter tires & couldn't provide any recommendations or options. called every tire place in the phone book. NOTHING for 19" winter tires. finally stumble across this place called BC Auto Design in Richmond Hill. they were able to fit 18" snow tires on my hybrid. apparently the hybrid's calipers are too big for the 17" wheels. very grateful that i got a set of winter tires. last winter's brutal snow fall was a white knuckle experience. anybody skidding in the snow & ice on the all seasons tires? i had some near misses despite the electronics decide to take over.
Bridgestone Blizzaks are available in the 245/55 x 19 size.

2008 Highlander Hybrid Limited; Nav, DVD (His)

2007 Volvo XC70 (Hers)

1999 Camry LE (mine, used by my son)
jeffs3820 is offline  
post #73 of 408 Old 11-24-2008, 10:05 AM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: canada
Posts: 586
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Thanks: 12
Thanked 32 Times in 25 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffs3820 View Post
Bridgestone Blizzaks are available in the 245/55 x 19 size.
Last year at least it wasn't the snow tires that were a problem....it was the lack of a steel wheel to fit.
nmehes is offline  
post #74 of 408 Old 12-22-2008, 08:20 AM
A First Coast TN User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I also have the same question for my HH '08. The manual recommends 33psi but after I took back the SUV from the dealer (for a 5K oil & filter change) the mechanic filled up the tires up to 44psi! So which one is the correct tire pressure? Does anyone know?
MisterEd is offline  
post #75 of 408 Old 12-22-2008, 08:55 AM
A First Coast TN User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Just found out that the 44psi the mechanic put in are the max tire pressure allowed per the tire manufacturer. What a dope! And so I deflated the tires back to the Toyota recommended pressure of around 33psi.
MisterEd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Hybrid Forum > Highlander Hybrid

Bookmarks

Tags
2008 , button , highlander hybrid , reset , tpms

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome