2002 Toyota Tundra ECU location - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums
Tundra 1st Generation (20002006) Looking for dedicated discussion for the 1st Generation of the Toyota Tundra? This forum is the place for you.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 Old 12-12-2018, 06:37 AM Thread Starter
New TN User
 
Teebrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Lake Rathbun, Iowa
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Supreme Member
Garage
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
2002 Toyota Tundra ECU location

Hi Everyone-
I'm the very proud new owner of a 2002 Toyota. Great 1 owner truck and it's in great shape inside-and-out!
My only problem? Previous owner lost one remote and broke the other.....
Do I have to take the cowling off under the stearing column?
This topic seems to be full of info, but some is obviously incorrect.
Thanks for any clarification-

Last edited by BamZipPow; 12-24-2018 at 12:19 PM. Reason: Personal email removed
Teebrock is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 12-12-2018, 07:35 AM
Official TN Member
 
THEWISEONE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Montreal,Quebec,Canada
Posts: 882
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 221 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 60 Times in 56 Posts
Garage
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Might be simpler just to use the key to start the vehicule.Those remotes are very expensive and need to be programmed by the dealer.
THEWISEONE is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 12-12-2018, 08:22 AM Thread Starter
New TN User
 
Teebrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Lake Rathbun, Iowa
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Supreme Member
Garage
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Ecu

I purchased the remotes (not that expensive) and have the directions to program. It doesn't need to be a dealer. I just needed help finding the exact ECU location. I don't want to pay for something I can do myself.
Teebrock is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 Old 12-21-2018, 03:24 PM
New TN User
 
damcelhannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: McAllen, TX
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Kinda the opposite for me... looking to buy a 02 Tundra. Absolutely beautiful truck and the previous owner had three remotes. Not one of them can be put on a key chain because he broke the loops on each remote!


damcelhannon is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 12-24-2018, 12:19 PM
T100 Road Warrior...
 
BamZipPow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: The Woodlands, TX
Posts: 13,018
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 878 Post(s)
Thanks: 3,510
Thanked 3,675 Times in 2,905 Posts
Supreme Member
Garage
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Wink

Welcome to the forums!

I take it that you have the RS3000 alarm system? If so, this thread may of some use to you.

https://www.tundrasolutions.com/foru...-ecu-location/

https://northcoastkeyless.com/2002-t...-instructions/

1998 T-100 SR5 2WD auto, Roadmaster Active suspension, dual oil catch jars, AC mod, aero cap, lower aero package, 67% grill block, aero single wheel trailer
BamZipPow is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Truck, SUV and Van Forums > Tundra Forum > Tundra 1st Generation (20002006)

Bookmarks

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome