TechStream on Windows 8.1 64 Bit - Page 2 - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums
General Discussion General discussion of basically anything automotive-related.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #16 of 27 Old 08-30-2015, 09:17 AM
New TN User
 
pdleung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by ranger0 View Post
EFS463

Thanks - seems everything written says it won't work in 64 bit. I'm going to first try the XP Mode on my Win 7 64 laptop.

Thanks again

Bill
I just installed TechStream10.10.018 on my Windows 10 64-bit tablet. Here's the steps I followed:

1. Installed TechStream software
2. Extracted XHorse install package into temporary directory, e.g. in command shell

msiexec /a "MVCI Driver for TOYOTA.msi" /qb TARGETDIR=<destination path>

Where destination path = path to temporary directory

3. Copied contents of extract to C:\Program Files (x86)\XHorse Electronics\MCVI Driver for Toyota TIS\
4. Downloaded and installed the 64-bit registry hack (contents below - save text to file and name file with .reg extension, run to install via RegEdit)

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\PassThruSu pport.04.04]

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\PassThruSu pport.04.04\XHorse - MVCI]
"Name"="XHorse - MVCI"
"Vendor"="XHorse ELECTRONICS Co.,Ltd."
"ConfigApplication"="C:\\Program Files (x86)\\XHorse Electronics\\MVCI Driver for TOYOTA TIS\\FirmwareUpdateTool.exe"
"FunctionLibrary"="C:\\Program Files (x86)\\XHorse Electronics\\MVCI Driver for TOYOTA TIS\\MVCI32.dll"
"APIVersion"="04.04"
"ProductVersion"="1.1.0"
"ProtocolsSupported"="J1850VPW:1, J1850PWM:1, CAN:1, ISO9141:1, ISO14230:1, ISO15765:1"
"J1850VPW"=dword:00000001
"J1850PWM"=dword:00000001
"ISO9141"=dword:00000001
"ISO14230"=dword:00000001
"CAN"=dword:00000001
"ISO15765"=dword:00000001
"SCI_A_ENGINE"=dword:00000000
"SCI_A_TRANS"=dword:00000000
"SCI_B_ENGINE"=dword:00000000
"SCI_B_TRANS"=dword:00000000

5. Rebooted tablet
6. Plugged in J2534 Mini-VCI cable. Windows 10 automatically detects the cable. You will notice in device manager it adds 3 devices:

Ports (COM & LPT) -> USB Serial Port (COM<n>) where <n> = a system assigned number
Universal Serial Bus Controllers -> USB Serial Converter
Vehicle Interface Module

Interestingly enough, Windows 10 installs the most up to date drivers for these devices. I tried to manually install the MVCI drivers from the MSI, no avail - on reboot, Windows 10 overwrites these.
Anyways, I don't think manually updating the drivers is necessary with the registry hack.
7. Loaded TechStream
8. In the menu, go to Setup -> VIM Select -> select Interface Setup = XHorse - MVCI
9. Turn vehicle to ON, position II
10. Select 'Connect to Vehicle' and you should be able to connect!
pdleung is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 27 Old 09-08-2015, 01:15 AM
DIY Dad: if it has things, I'll tinker with it
 
SFCamry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: City Different
Posts: 2,915
Blog Entries: 1
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 910 Post(s)
Thanks: 74
Thanked 296 Times in 266 Posts
Supreme Member
Garage
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Sub

Camry Mod

THIS

'15 4Runner SR5 (1GR-FE)
'09 Camry SE 2.4L (2AZ-FE)
'97 Tacoma XL 4x4 Ext Cab 2.7L (3RZ-FE) - Manual
'97 Ford Explorer XLT V6 SOHC 4.0L 4x4

SFCamry is online now  
post #18 of 27 Old 09-11-2015, 10:01 PM
Senior TN Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: U. S. A.
Posts: 1,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Thanks: 51
Thanked 225 Times in 193 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
May I ask what people who've posted in this thread are paying for Techstream and a cable?

The prices I see at techinfo.toyota.com are way out of my reach.

Thanks.

2015 2WD Toyota Tacoma Prerunner V6 SR5 1GR-FE 236HP
2014 2WD Toyota 4Runner SR5 1GR-FE 254 HP Dual VVT-i
2006 Toyota Avalon 3.5l automatic 2GR-RE
Mike Murrell is offline  
post #19 of 27 Old 09-12-2015, 09:09 AM
Bill
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I paid $26.99 for my cable from Amazon - of course, I knew it was a Chinese knockoff when I bought it. I believe it came with software, but that can be downloaded any number of places. One forum member strongly recommends the ALLSCANNER (cost some $80 on Amazon, I believe), I just haven't spent the money for that yet.

I got it to program a new key fob (push button start) - bought the fob (new oem - with emergency key) on ebay for some $80. Cost me $20 to get the emergency key cut locally. I believe others have spent less, but I'm not complaining.

Took me awhile to get the software and cable to work (Win 7 32 bit, probably all my fault), but it did work. Couldn't find any place (other than Toyota) in Oklahoma City to obtain a spare fob.

You know this, but.............................

Take care to try to purchase from a vendor on Ebay, Amazon or any other seller that will guarantee satisfaction or a refund for return.

Hope this helps

Bill
ranger0 is offline  
post #20 of 27 Old 09-12-2015, 05:22 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Ive tried everything on my Windows 7 none of it works. tried the whole extraction, create directory method ive tried the version that with the cable V10.00.28 and also tried a downloaded V10.10.018. Also tried all 3 of those in virtual PC XP mode. Everytime i get an unable to connect to VIM error message.
KiloVictor is offline  
post #21 of 27 Old 09-13-2015, 11:51 AM
Bill
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
KiloVictor -- Keep trying -

Best of luck

Bill
ranger0 is offline  
post #22 of 27 Old 09-13-2015, 12:07 PM
Senior TN Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: U. S. A.
Posts: 1,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Thanks: 51
Thanked 225 Times in 193 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
KiloVictor:

Have you see this. I cannot attest to it as I've not even begun to work the Chinese Techstream. Just an FYI:

http://www.toyota-4runner.org/genera...-8-64-bit.html

2015 2WD Toyota Tacoma Prerunner V6 SR5 1GR-FE 236HP
2014 2WD Toyota 4Runner SR5 1GR-FE 254 HP Dual VVT-i
2006 Toyota Avalon 3.5l automatic 2GR-RE
Mike Murrell is offline  
post #23 of 27 Old 09-13-2015, 09:24 PM
DIY Dad: if it has things, I'll tinker with it
 
SFCamry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: City Different
Posts: 2,915
Blog Entries: 1
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 910 Post(s)
Thanks: 74
Thanked 296 Times in 266 Posts
Supreme Member
Garage
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by KiloVictor View Post
Ive tried everything on my Windows 7 none of it works. tried the whole extraction, create directory method ive tried the version that with the cable V10.00.28 and also tried a downloaded V10.10.018. Also tried all 3 of those in virtual PC XP mode. Everytime i get an unable to connect to VIM error message.
The problem seems to be the inability to run under an XP mode in some versions of Win 7. If you have Win 7 Pro you can download a plug-in that will allow you to run an XP mode, which will then work. Check out this link:

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/w...e-in-windows-7

Users with 8.1 64-bit have workarounds, but I have not seen any successful workarounds (yet) for Win 7 32-bit in versions not listed in the link above.

Camry Mod

THIS

'15 4Runner SR5 (1GR-FE)
'09 Camry SE 2.4L (2AZ-FE)
'97 Tacoma XL 4x4 Ext Cab 2.7L (3RZ-FE) - Manual
'97 Ford Explorer XLT V6 SOHC 4.0L 4x4

SFCamry is online now  
post #24 of 27 Old 09-14-2015, 12:45 AM
This Space For Rent
 
humanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sunny SoCal
Posts: 14,157
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 561 Post(s)
Thanks: 1,268
Thanked 699 Times in 614 Posts
Lifetime Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 3 reviews
Since I've upgraded to to Win10, wonder if any of these will still work?



humanoid is offline  
post #25 of 27 Old 09-14-2015, 12:13 PM
DIY Dad: if it has things, I'll tinker with it
 
SFCamry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: City Different
Posts: 2,915
Blog Entries: 1
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 910 Post(s)
Thanks: 74
Thanked 296 Times in 266 Posts
Supreme Member
Garage
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by humanoid View Post
Since I've upgraded to to Win10, wonder if any of these will still work?
You may be able to run an XP environment in Win 10. I have not read thorough this, just did a fast Google, but you may want to check it out:

http://www.download3k.com/articles/H...-Hyper-V-00770

Or, the registry hacks may work as well. Considering the software and cable are less than $30 delivered, well worth it to try! It has saved my bacon, and others that have used it, on my XP laptop. I love it, and am desperate to make it work on a better system!

Camry Mod

THIS

'15 4Runner SR5 (1GR-FE)
'09 Camry SE 2.4L (2AZ-FE)
'97 Tacoma XL 4x4 Ext Cab 2.7L (3RZ-FE) - Manual
'97 Ford Explorer XLT V6 SOHC 4.0L 4x4

SFCamry is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to SFCamry For This Useful Post:
humanoid (09-14-2015)
post #26 of 27 Old 06-10-2017, 06:06 PM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Thanks: 9
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Has anyone been recently able to get this to work on Windows 10?

I've got the drivers installed and when I plug in the ebay usb to OBD2 connector, the light is green on the connector.. BUt when I try to connect to the car.. I get error saying it can't connect to VIM.

I really need to get this working so I can program in a new TPMS sensor.

Thanks!
crabjoe is offline  
post #27 of 27 Old 06-26-2017, 10:42 PM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 411
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Thanks: 27
Thanked 46 Times in 41 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Check the installation files and the installed files. One of the files with an extension ".dll" will be missing. Happened to me quite sometime back (unfortunately the laptop is away from me currently). Copy the file in or reinstall the software and it should work fine.

BTW, do you have 32-bit software or 64-bit software? If it is 32-bit then you need to amend the registry to get the software to work. Check out the thread and the post in particular - https://www.toyotanation.com/forum/12...l#post10516409.

I had originally installed TS on windows 7 64-bit machine and it continued working fine when I upgraded to Windows 10 64-bit. The software was 32-bit.

2004 Corolla LE 150K miles
2013 TCH LE 60K miles
rolla2004 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Nation Forums > General Discussion

Bookmarks

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome