Clutch Won't Disengage - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums
89-95 Toyota Pickup/Hilux Discussion forum for the 89-95 Toyota Pickup/Hilux owners.

1Likes
  • 1 Post By sdspeed

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 Old 07-12-2019, 07:56 AM Thread Starter
New TN User

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Clutch Won't Disengage

The clutch on my 89 pickup won't disengage. Shifting became more and more difficult and finally reached the point where I couldn't get it in gear at all with the engine running. Replaced the master cylinder and slave cylinder and bled the system. No improvement. Any suggestions?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old 07-12-2019, 04:56 PM
New TN User

Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Bob, I'm a shade tree mechanic at best, but I'll make a SWAG. Could it be inside the trans itself, i.e. shift fork, throw out bearing, etc. As I say, I'm just throwing out things. Good luck.

Live, Love, Laugh. If that doesn't work Load, Aim, Fire.
post #3 of 15 Old 07-13-2019, 01:11 PM Thread Starter
New TN User

(Thread Starter)
I'm coming to the same conclusion myself. My son and I replaced the clutch plate last fall and I don't recall replacing the throw out bearing. Not sure I have the energy to pull the tyranny again! Anyway to tell if it's the bearing before pulling it?

Last edited by bobkelsey; 07-13-2019 at 01:13 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 15 Old 07-13-2019, 01:38 PM
Senior TN Member

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 358 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobkelsey View Post
I'm coming to the same conclusion myself. My son and I replaced the clutch plate last fall and I don't recall replacing the throw out bearing. Not sure I have the energy to pull the tyranny again! Anyway to tell if it's the bearing before pulling it?