Dashcam interfering with FM reception? - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums
Camry 8th Generation (2018+) Toyota Camry Discussion for years: 2018+

 1Likes
  • 1 Post By ToycamXSE
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 Old 06-14-2019, 12:36 PM Thread Starter
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Thanks: 10
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Dashcam interfering with FM reception?

Hi all. I have a front/rear camera setup with the main display mounted to the windshield, and the rear camera mounted in the back window as seen here. The rear camera is powered via a long mini-USB cable that runs across the back of the headliner, down the C-pillar, under the seats, and up the A-pillar to the main unit on the windshield.

Since I installed the rear camera, a local FM station that I listen to cuts out constantly while driving (at least 6-8 times on a 10-minute drive). If I unplug the rear camera wire from the main unit, the issue seems to go away (this morning it cut out only one time at an intersection between buildings where this commonly happens).

1. Is this really possible or just a coincidence? And if so...
2. Is there a better way I should be routing this cable, or a better spot for the rear camera? Maybe near the bottom corner of the back window?
jperryss is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 06-14-2019, 01:26 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
If you think it might be wiring interference, try temporary routing the rear camera wire in a different location. Nothing neat, Just let it lay across the floor or seats for a few days to see if this eliminates the issue. I just installed a Blackvue 2 channel system in my Camry and so far no radio interference that i can tell. I routed the rear camera wire along the outside edge of the headliner from Lt side C-pillar to Lt frt A-pillar.
fowlergk is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to fowlergk For This Useful Post:
jperryss (06-19-2019)
post #3 of 10 Old 06-17-2019, 01:04 PM
MZ5
New TN User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Thanks: 4
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I donít recall for certain: Arenít our radiosí antennas in the rear window? If they are, and if the camera youíre using isnít very well designed or properly & well shielded, it could easily produce enough RF noise that an adjacent antenna could pick it up, and consequently try to overload the radio tuner.

Or, the usb cable could be carrying a lot of interference if the camera is noisy and the usb cable is routed near the FM antenna cable.

So, try a different location for the rear camera as well as different cable routing, and see what happens.
MZ5 is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to MZ5 For This Useful Post:
jperryss (06-19-2019)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 Old 06-19-2019, 05:16 PM Thread Starter
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Thanks: 10
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Update: I tried putting the camera in a few different spots around the rear deck and continued to have the same issue. I even just left it sitting in the back seat, nowhere near the back window, to no avail.

I then tested with the rear camera up front, right next to the main unit, with the looooong USB cable coiled up around the post of the rear view mirror. Same problem.

Lastly, I cut the USB cable down and re-spliced it about 18" long, again with the rear camera up front. Same issue. I could make the FM station cut out and in just by unplugging the rear-cam cable from the main unit. So I am blaming the rear camera for this issue and back into the box it goes.
jperryss is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 06-20-2019, 06:21 AM
Official TN Member
 
ToycamXSE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 695
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 311 Post(s)
Thanks: 9
Thanked 62 Times in 59 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
What can system are you using?

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
ToycamXSE is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 06-20-2019, 07:09 AM Thread Starter
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Thanks: 10
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ToycamXSE View Post
What can system are you using?
Whoops, should've mentioned that. I'm using
this Apeman front/rear setup this Apeman front/rear setup
.
jperryss is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 06-20-2019, 07:13 AM
Official TN Member
 
ToycamXSE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 695
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 311 Post(s)
Thanks: 9
Thanked 62 Times in 59 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Never heard of that cam system before. Definitely looks like some cheap cam system. Probably not shielded properly and the reason it's causing the interference. Spend a little extra money and get a better system.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
MZ5 likes this.
ToycamXSE is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 06-20-2019, 12:33 PM Thread Starter
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Thanks: 10
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ToycamXSE View Post
Spend a little extra money and get a better system.
Good advice for anyone else considering one. The front cam works good enough for me to not bother buying another one.
jperryss is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 06-20-2019, 12:40 PM
Official TN Member
 
ToycamXSE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 695
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 311 Post(s)
Thanks: 9
Thanked 62 Times in 59 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by jperryss View Post
Good advice for anyone else considering one. The front cam works good enough for me to not bother buying another one.
Good enough may just not be "good enough" when you look at the video footage and it looks like it has the picture quality of minecraft.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
ToycamXSE is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 06-20-2019, 12:44 PM Thread Starter
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Thanks: 10
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ToycamXSE View Post
Good enough may just not be "good enough" when you look at the video footage and it looks like it has the picture quality of minecraft.
The video quality is fine.
jperryss is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > Camry and Solara Forum > Camry 8th Generation (2018+)

Bookmarks

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome