idle re-learn - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums
Highlander 1st Generation (2001-2007) Forum dedicated to the discussion of 1st generation Toyota Highlanders.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 Old 06-15-2019, 06:27 PM Thread Starter
New TN User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: EARTH
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
idle re-learn

I have a 5/2007 Highlander Limited 3.3L, with 140K. I am an auto tech for another brand. Are there any Toyota dealership techs that can list the idle relearn steps for a throttle body like mine without an idle valve?



I have been chasing mixture too lean fault(s) on bank 2. I disconnected the battery today to clean two chassis ground points one below the engine junction box in the left front fender/nose area and the other under the battery, and now she won't idle worth a damn, stalls too. Fuel pressure is 50psi with good volume. o2 sensors are ok and the exhaust has no leaks. Mass air flow meter is a brand new original Toyota part.


Thanks in advance
poops mcquee is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 06-15-2019, 06:30 PM
Senior TN Member
 
cb91710's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: SoCal IE
Posts: 3,588
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1650 Post(s)
Thanks: 97
Thanked 378 Times in 353 Posts
Lifetime Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Some Toyota engines are worse than others. Wife's '04 Rav would stall, my '08 Tacoma was just a bit rough.
An hour or so of driving and a couple of restarts will be all it takes... it's pretty quick.
I don't think there's any way to force it.

-- Rich

cb91710 is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to cb91710 For This Useful Post:
poops mcquee (06-15-2019)
post #3 of 6 Old 06-15-2019, 06:37 PM Thread Starter
New TN User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: EARTH
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Would anyone else care to chime in. Rich says, I should just drive a car that stalls and won't idle.

Last edited by poops mcquee; 06-15-2019 at 06:39 PM.
poops mcquee is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 Old 06-15-2019, 09:47 PM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: chgo
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Every time I disconnect my battery it takes about a trip to my job before it starts acting normal. It’s about 8 miles or roughly 45-60minutes street driving. Generally I throw the car in neutral if I feel it’s going to shutoff while idling at a light during the drive. Good Luck
cerivera is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 06-17-2019, 07:32 PM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 249
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Thanks: 13
Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Happened a couple times to me when I forgot to reconnect MAF or the TB harness when I was cleaning the Tb and another stuff under there.

Are there any CEL or VSC TRAC OFF lights? if there are check the codes or check pending as mine always threw a code when I forgot to reconnect one of them. or Perhaps check the air filter box is sealed as on mine the back right - firewall side is a PITA to get back in place and will idle like crap if the box isn't firmly sealed

I've found just letting it idle for a few minutes after reconnecting it should settle down after about 5 mins or as the temp comes up. The take it for a drive round the block If it doesn't play ball then I disconnect battery and try again. Usually works second time for me. It usually Idles very high and drops down


Chasing lean codes for me was a filthy MAF - didn't have idle issues though just poor throttle response. Could the MAF be faulty or the connection not tight into the intake or electrical? My MAF screws points are stripped and I use a larger threaded screw to keep it in place although my rubber seal around the base of the MAf is super tight so it kinda stays in place without needing the fasteners and I sure as heck use them as I don't want the bugger coming loose or falling out.


The ECM has very limited 2 way tests or the like as far as I'm aware. A good professional Scan tool or the techstream software should have access if the option is there.

2006 Kluger (Highlander) CVX (Sport) 3.3L with leather interior and 7 seats.

Last edited by phoenix2301; 06-19-2019 at 07:01 PM.
phoenix2301 is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 06-19-2019, 06:30 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
What are your fuel trim numbers? Do you have access to Mitchel or alldata? I'm at home now and don't.

Sent from my Moto E (4) Plus using Tapatalk
tutti57 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Truck, SUV and Van Forums > Highlander Forum > Highlander 1st Generation (2001-2007)

Bookmarks

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome