P0500 - VSS on Land Cruiser Prado D4D - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums
Land Cruiser Forum Dedicated Land Cruiser discussion forum.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 Old 03-24-2019, 10:58 AM Thread Starter
New TN User
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Unhappy P0500 - VSS on Land Cruiser Prado D4D

Hello,

Glad I've found this forum - this is my first post! I've posted about this elsewhere a while ago but didnt get any replies, so hoping someone here might have an idea - thanks in advance!

I've got a UK 2006 Land Cruiser 120 D4D (Prado) and I was driving on the motoeway when the green cruise light flashed and cruise disengaged itself. Then some lights came up on the dashboard -- check engine light, VSC/TRC, VSC-OFF and 'Slip Indicator' light. If I stop and restart the car, the lights go, but then come back after about a minute or so of driving.

The engine was fine, the speedo is working and its changing gear OK, so it obviously does know its own speed somehow.

I put an ODB2 reader on it and looked at live data. I could see the speed from each ABS wheel sensor, and also the Vehicle Speed Sensor. The VSS was not exactly the same as the 4 ABS ones, but it wasnt much different. - maybe lagged by 1-3mph or something.

Also it was reporting a P0500 code talking about VSS - vehicle speed sensor. Its been in the garage - they said the speed sensor is on the gearbox, and so changed it for a new one. Unfortunately, this didn't fix it.

I've had a look at a wiring diagram (haynes book), and from what I can tell on this model (1KD-FTV) the speed sensor wire goes to the instrument cluster, the ABS computer and the VSC computer.

So I'm thinking:

- ODB2 reports a speed for VSS, that suggests the VSS Is working (plus its now been replaced);

- The speedometer reports the correct speed, that suggests the wiring between the VSS and the instrument cluster is OK;

- The ABS light did *not* come on - so the wiring from VSS to ABS computer should be OK;

- The VSC light did come on - so maybe its the wiring between the VSS and the VSC computer thats broken?

Does that logic make sense? Any input/thoughts you have would be very welcome. This is my first LC, so I'm guessing really!

Thanks!!
frog1520 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 03-24-2019, 12:17 PM
cj1
Senior TN Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: calif
Posts: 2,034
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 360 Post(s)
Thanks: 9
Thanked 190 Times in 187 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Can you read freeze frame data for the P0500?


Verify VSS changed by garage was output speed sensor and not input.



Personally i believe that garage owes you a fix due to a misdiagnoses.
cj1 is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 03-24-2019, 12:47 PM Thread Starter
New TN User
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Thanks for that!

I didn't know there were two on there. I'll check with the garage as they still have it!

If it comes back to me unfixed, I'll get the freeze frame data!

Thanks again!
frog1520 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 12 Old 03-27-2019, 07:09 AM Thread Starter
New TN User
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by cj1 View Post
Verify VSS changed by garage was output speed sensor and not input.


I checked with the garage,and they have changed both sensors trying to clear it!
frog1520 is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 03-27-2019, 11:18 AM
cj1
Senior TN Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: calif
Posts: 2,034
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 360 Post(s)
Thanks: 9
Thanked 190 Times in 187 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
"I've got a UK 2006 Land Cruiser 120 D4D (Prado) and I was driving on the motoeway when the green cruise light flashed and cruise disengaged itself."


Freeze frame data from the P0500 would help.
Is error only when using cruise control?

Any other P050X codes?
cj1 is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 03-27-2019, 11:25 AM Thread Starter
New TN User
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Thanks for that.

I'll see if we can get the freeze frame data.

It's not only on cruise control - if you just drive around for 30 seconds or so (without cruise) the lights come on. check engine light comes on first, then the others about 5 sec later.

No other P* codes, but I did also see a C1201 which I took to be the check engine light... Is that correct?

Thanks for the help
frog1520 is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 03-27-2019, 12:27 PM
cj1
Senior TN Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: calif
Posts: 2,034
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 360 Post(s)
Thanks: 9
Thanked 190 Times in 187 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Believe that C1201 is a response to the P0500.
'If a malfunction in the SFI system is detected, the operation of VSC and TR(A)C is prohibited by the fail-safe function. When the signals from the engine are received normally, fail-safe control is canceled."


Regarding trying to find the source of the P0500, the system needs to be analyzed by following known good scope patterns rather than changing out the sensors hoping for a fix.


Can't add much more but am interested in final solution.

Please let us know.
cj1 is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 03-27-2019, 05:53 PM Thread Starter
New TN User
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by cj1 View Post
Believe that C1201 is a response to the P0500.
'If a malfunction in the SFI system is detected, the operation of VSC and TR(A)C is prohibited by the fail-safe function. When the signals from the engine are received normally, fail-safe control is canceled."


Regarding trying to find the source of the P0500, the system needs to be analyzed by following known good scope patterns rather than changing out the sensors hoping for a fix.


Can't add much more but am interested in final solution.

Please let us know.
Thanks a lot for the info - I'll let you know what happens with it!
frog1520 is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 04-05-2019, 11:39 AM Thread Starter
New TN User
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Unhappy

Toyota had a look at it, and said new ECU required at a cost of 1600+ !

Looking at options at the moment.... :-(
frog1520 is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 04-22-2019, 12:52 PM Thread Starter
New TN User
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Wink P500 - update

Hello Chaps,

Still waiting to decide whats best on the ECU front - trying to find a 2nd hand unit.

In the meantime, as I now have the vehicle back I thought I'd plug in techstream and get the freeze frame data - please see attached screenshots.

A new speed sensor has been fitted, which obviously didn't solve the problem.

Looking at the freeze frame data:

- vehicle speed 0 (which it wasnt)

- SPD (SP2) says 18 km/h which is probably correct

- everything else looks OK to me but I'm guessing - does anything jump out as a problem?

So, few questions...

1. What is SPD (SP2)? How come that can see the speed, but the 'vehicle speed' recording is 0? NB the speedo works fine at all times and the gearbox is smooth

2. I noticed on techstream live data from Engine ECU and gearbox ECT (if thats the right word) - when I drive it around, the vehicle speed is always 0. EXECPT if I'm reversing! Then it gets a number?!

Does this provide any more clues?

Thanks for your help!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	p500-freeze1.gif
Views:	13
Size:	186.0 KB
ID:	238708   Click image for larger version

Name:	p500-freeze2.gif
Views:	11
Size:	172.5 KB
ID:	238710  
frog1520 is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 04-28-2019, 07:00 PM Thread Starter
New TN User
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
speedo in reverse

So, heres a question. Should the speedometer work when in reverse? Ie should it register a speed?

Mine doesn't appear to!
frog1520 is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 05-17-2019, 06:37 PM Thread Starter
New TN User
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Well, ECU replaced and that didn't fix it. So Toyota's diagnosis was wrong there.

Also changed out the combination meter and that didn't fix it either.

Whats left to try?
frog1520 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Truck, SUV and Van Forums > Land Cruiser Forum

Bookmarks

Tags
120 , d4d , p0500 , p500 , prado

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome