Toyota Nation Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
AtoyotNoob
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Please bear w/ a noob here. My car downshifts quite abruptly and slows down significantly during coasting. It doesn't allow me to coast smoothly then brake let's say to a red light, it'll slown down to the point that I feel it'll come to a full stop if I don't give it some gas and even if I don't step on the brakes. When I allow it to slown down like this it then has a hard time "recovering" for acceleration. It also has this strange habit of "surging" when I lighten up on the brake pedal during braking, i.e. I have to exert constant and strong pressure while braking otherwise i'll feel a surge of speed. Thanks for your opinions before I call the dealer service dept.

·
Registered
1,964 Posts
I've experienced some or all of what you're saying but nothing real abrupt.
Just a difference from other vehicles when driven
It took awhile to get used to.
If you're uncomfortable with it call your service dept to check things out.

·
SEcond Rate Products
406 Posts
really depends from what speeds you're talking about.. on the highway, mine will coast forever seemingly, and down around school zone speeds it'll do the same.

between that it seems to engine brake a lot (which is ok with me), and yes there is a bit of a surge when you let off the brakes, but thats because when you're on the brakes you're not just slowing the car, you're holding the engine back.

if you've never driven a car with a large(r) displacement engine and an automatic, this might be alien to you, but it's like that in most cars with large(r) displacement engines and autos.

in my experience anyway.

·
SEcond Rate Products
406 Posts
and wtf, they told me that they don't make SE V6's in blue ribbon metallic... those lying bastages!

·
Registered
1,964 Posts
repocop said:
and wtf, they told me that they don't make SE V6's in blue ribbon metallic... those lying bastages!
repo