Toyota Nation Forum banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just bought a 2015 Avalon Hybrid with 9000 miles Dec 24, twice the battery has gone dead. Once when I was setting up the blue tooth in the garage with all the car doors closed? Last night when I went to town visiting for 1/2 hour. Came out and the battery was dead. Is this a problem for the Avalon's?
thanks

·
Registered
2014 Avalon Hybrid, 2018 Prius Four Touring, 2018 Prius Two, 2015 Nissan LeafS
555 Posts
I'm new to the TAH world, but I'd say no, this isn't a general problem. If the car has been sitting for an extended period of time (9k miles in 2 years? not a lot of driving), it's possible the battery hasn't been fully charged in quite a while (the 12V battery is charging only while the car is driven).

Your 2015 should still be under warranty, so you could take it to any Toyota dealer and inquire. However, I'd do the following first.

When I bought my 2014 TAH, with 12k miles, first thing I did was install a Battery Tender "Fused ring terminal quick connect" to the battery. I then used my Battery Tender Plus to bring the 12V battery to a full charge. It charged for 15+ hours before shutting off (obviously had been sitting at the dealer for some time!) . After driving the car every other day for a couple of weeks, varying length trips, the car was charging the battery to the proper level. I connected the charger again, this time only charged for 2 hours.

I bought our 2013 Ford Cmax with 41k miles on the clock. The first time I attempted to charge it, the Battery Tender Plus couldn't bring it to a full charge after 30+ hours! I took the car back to the selling dealer, they replaced the 12V battery free of charge.