Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a novice when it comes to engines, so bear with me. What can I say; I'm a guitar player?

My recently inherited 1982 Pickup runs great. 147k on the odometer but only about 70K on the engine. BUT, having a problem today...

The clutch is giving me trouble today - I have to drill the thing all the way to the floor, and it doesn't want to go into gear. Feels like maybe low on fluid, but I'm such a loser, I can't seem to find the stick to check it and/or fill it.

Anyone out there willing to help?

Thanks...

·
Registered
15 Posts
No dipstick for the tranny on a shifty my friend.
I had an 86 that wouldn't shift all of a sudden. Check the clear resevoir at the back to the right. If it doesn't have fluid, you either have a rusted out hydraulic line or a leaky slave cylinder for the clutch. The part is only $20 but if your a guiter man, it's gonna cost extra to install it

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks a ton. Resevoir was empty when I checked it... filled it; but still having trouble, so I'm guessing there's a leak.

TG

·
Registered
100 Posts
Tranny fluid?