Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all,
I own a 1991 (GEN2) Toyota Camry V6 LE (91,000 mi. first-hand) and I'm a relative newbie at this car stuff. Well, I wanted to upgrade the audio system in it and so far I've been able to do the following things:
Change the rear speakers (Piece of cake)
Change the front speakers (Man, these are a bitch to get to...)
...well the thing with the front speakers was that I thought they were 4" so i bought 4" speakers... but they aren't, they're 3.5"... so I took out the passive radiator and put the 4" speaker in that slot, but I guess it wasn't such a great idea so i'm thinking I should either get new 3.5's or try to custom fit the 4" and put the radiators back in. or have both 3.5's AND 4's running (possible??). What do ya think? Good idea? Bad idea?

And another question for those experienced with GEN2 Camry's, what would be the best way to run wires from the dash/battery to the trunk for amp installation. I'm planning on running the RCA and speaker wire through the passenger side and the power wire through the driver side. The thing is, I have no idea on how to do this and I don't want to have to tear apart my car to figure it out. So, what's the easiest way to run the wires? Oh, and how do I get wire from the battery through the firewall (how am I possibly supposed to get access to the firewall?) and into the car?

Thanks in advance

·
Registered
159 Posts
I just hooked up the + to the battery zip tied the wire to the throttle cable. I had to punch a hole through the steering boot under the dash.( you might need two people to get the wire through the boot). then just ran it through the moldings that are on the bottom of the coor jams, and under the back seat! It wasnt that hard.

·
Grenaded piston
6,528 Posts
drunknmaster28 said: