Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
HI,

I am new to TN, however, I've read quite a lot of info on the site. Hope you can help me out. Here is my situation, I have a well maintained 1992 4Runner with a "3VZE" and 141K on the odometer (owned it since 1996) driven by my wife on-road only, towed 20' boat one season, body in 92% condition (some rust on bottom of tailgate and rear bumper). Toyota did head gaskets (years ago) at 63,000 and 75,000 on the original motor (#6 cyl.). The third time I made my case, and they put in a new factory shortblock, new heads with the old valve train, head bolts, oil pump, waterpump, T-belt, etc, etc,.

When it went this time on the new motor at 60k (#1 cyl.), it was driven less than 1/4 mile. I pulled the plugs, dumped the anti-freeze, and the oil (which had about 4 to 6 oz. of anti-freeze in it). Since then, 2 years and three months ago, it has not moved (still like the look of it). Anyway, what do I do?
  1. Donate/Dumped it? No way.
  2. Try to sell as is? Not many takers around here!
  3. Part it out. (this would hurt!)
  4. Do the head gasket job with some assistance?
  5. Any other options?
My other issue is since it ran fine until the gasket blew, should I drain the block (there are drain plugs on the 3VZE right?), put in new oil and a filter, and make sure it still runs before pulling the heads (that is after putting some Marvel Mystery oil in each cylinder to hopefully free up any frozen rings)?

Any experience or knowledge with similiar situations would be appreciated.

Thanks

·
Registered
56 Posts