Toyota Nation Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Banned
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I am currently new to this amazing forum. I recently purchase a red 1992 Toyota N/A MR2. I got the car for $3,400 USD with an extra set of four 5 Lug Enkei rims. The car had 128K when I bought and it still does. I will have pictures of the car soon, it has a great exterior due to a recent red paint job. (Stage 2 Clear Coat $800 Connection). The car was a good deal, but little that I know it had some major problems with it. This is where some of you MR2 owners can help me. Here are some problems:

The idle hits only 4,500 RPM on every gear. ( I can't race for shit until I get my Gen 2 swap, which would fix the problem).

I know it has something to do with the idle, but I'm scared to fuck things up more. I have $7,000 USD saved up so I have enough for the engine swap. I was told for the Gen 2 Swap it would cost about $3,600 which includes labor and parts. The only problem is I am scared to swap because it would not pass smog or emission (Fucken California). Maybe some of you MR2 owners give me some help on the idle or more information on my swap. Please let me know what's worth it and what's not.

·
Registered
1,353 Posts
So you're saying that the engine doesn't rev past 4,500rpm? I've never heard of an N/A not revving past 4,500. Maybe you should try clearing your ECU by disconnecting the negative (black) terminal on the battery. Or maybe you could elaborate more on the problem, like does it stutter or pop or anything if you try to go past 4,500rpm? Or does it just not go any higher?

As for the swap, if you're worried about CA emissions, you might be able to have it retrofitted with an EGR system. That way you'll have the EGR provisions that you need. Otherwise, if you get caught, you're gonna have to go to a DMV referee station and have them scrutinize your engine compartment. :rolleyes:

Jason

·
Premium Member
5,005 Posts