Toyota Nation Forum banner

1994 Transmission shot?

957 Views 32 Replies 9 Participants Last post by  itsmrman2u
Hello All. Im a rookie on here. Had a few corollas before and now I have another one. But this time it needs work and was wondering if it’s worth it. I paid $1800 for a 94 1.6 3speed with 146k. It needs brakes. It needs hub bearings. But now it needs a transmission. So the previous owner had problems with it. It was slipping he said. So he got it rebuilt. Well now it slips again. When I put it in D, it won’t engage. I have to play with the shifter in order for it to get in gear. There’s a scraping sound. It’s sounds like it’s coming between the engine and transmission. Before I start playing and start to put money into this transmission and car, where should I look for? At the junkyard or somewhere else? Is it worth fixing?
Wheel Automotive parking light Automotive side marker light Tire Car

Automotive parking light Automotive side marker light Car Wheel Tire
  • Helpful
Reactions: Gen7-bestGen
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

· Registered
1997 Corolla
6,575 Posts
Can you disconnect the shifter and move the selector shaft on the transmission normally?

Welcome to TN!!!

Reactions: itsmrman2u

· Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
It is most likely worth fixing (y)
Did the rebuilder provide a warranty of any sort
Nope. He said he got it done by some backyard mechanic. The engine is great. No ticking. No smoke. I just would like an idea to start looking. Another idea is to just swap for manual. Idk. This was supposed to be for my son to start learning how to drive. But damn.

· Registered
46 Posts