Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I own a 1995 4Runner with power windows. The left rear passenger window will not go up or down when I use the switch on that door OR the master switch on the driver's door. The window is currently closed so I'm not in a panic but I would like to learn how to diagnose what the problem may be. All other windows operate fine through the master or respective switches on the other doors. I'm a novice when it comes to electrical repairs but do feel strongly that the switches are ok but either the window motor or relay may be the culprit. If one relay controls all windows then it's probably the motor in the door.

Am I on the right track with my presumptions and what can I do to ensure I'm not just throwing parts at the problem? I have replaced the power door lock actuator last year and it was mildly challenging so I would appreciate tips or a detailed tutorial from anyone gurus out there. I have a basic test light but no other electrical test equipment.

P.S. If the motor is the culprit, I plan to acquire one one from Rock Auto unless anyone has a better source that's cost effective. Dealership is major bucks! $$$

Thanks for assistance on this project.

58Toyopet

·
Toyota Collector
11,813 Posts
Remove the door panel, pull the connector going to the motor and feed power directly into the motor to see if it is alive. Another test is connect a light bulb to the motor connector, not an LED but incandescent which has much higher power draw.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you for your advice. Here's what I've done so far: