Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1999 Toyota Camry
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a solid 1999 V6 Camry for a daily driver. It is an awesome car I can always rely on, but I have finally decided to face one problem it has - the front and rear dome lights do not work. No fuses are blown, and I’m wondering if anyone else has had this problem with this car. I’m no electrician so I’m not sure if this would be an easy fix or one that would require tearing apart the vehicle for hundreds of $ which wouldn’t be worth it. If anyone has any ideas, let me know! I’m tired of trying to use my phone flashlight to see in my car during the night. Note: all dash and dial lighting works, for the most part, only the 2 dome lights are completely dead, no voltage at all.

·
'93 LE Wagon V6 '94 LE I4
'93 V6 wagon, '94 I4
925 Posts
Possibly the door switches. You might try pulling back the rubber cover then loosen and retightened the bolt. Worked for me temporarily. Replacement was the permanent fix.

·
Registered
Toyotas.
541 Posts
If it is the driver's door switch the lights will work with another door. Try new bulbs, too. The wiring on these is pretty damn reliable.

·
Registered
1999 Toyota Camry
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Possibly the door switches. You might try pulling back the rubber cover then loosen and retightened the bolt. Worked for me temporarily. Replacement was the permanent fix.
If it is the driver's door switch the lights will work with another door. Try new bulbs, too. The wiring on these is pretty damn reliable.