Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I have been fighting this code for about 2 months. The first time it happened I was coming to a stop at a light, didn't happen for a few weeks after that. 2 weeks later it happened again, I got it home, but it struggled to start until I let it sit for a bit. So I decided to source a used ECU, swapped it out, car ran fine for two weeks, then it happened again. I decided to clean the ignition coil connectors, seemed to help for a week or so. Started doing it again, very intermittently. So I decided to clean the ecu connectors, seemed to help. But today it did it again. It mostly happens when I am coming to a stop. But it always starts right back up and may not do it again my whole commute home(About 12miles lots of red lights). In the past I have replaced both coils. One thing to note the car does seem to idle lower than it did before once it gets warm, wouldn't think that would have any connection(most likely IAC needs cleaned). Kinda at wits end with the old girl. I have the old coil so i'm gonna try to swap that back in tomorrow. Has anyone had experience with this. I've never been hesitant to drive the car, but when that code kicks in the car has no choice but to die because the ecu cuts fuel. Any info on ground locations that I should check, or really any info at all would be much appreciated.

·
Registered
1995 Camry LE Wagon
4,738 Posts
Looked at my FSM and a little Goggle search to refresh my understanding. My 95 works on the same principle. The signals that control the coils also control the injectors. The ECU sends a primary 12v voltage to the coil primary that will fire the coil when it is shut off (secondary spark firing), then a confirmation signal is sent to the ECU to tell it there is ignition. If no confirmation signal and firing signal then the injector firing is cut off.