Toyota Nation Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I bought a corolla with 4AFE in it, because i'm thinking of puting a 20 valve in it without much hassle from RTA. i've read alot of threats from this site. it gets me more confused.
i called an engine importer for price
$995 4AGE 20 valves-silvertop wiring ECU+ gearbox
$1495 4AGE 20 valves-blacktop wiring ECU + Gearbox
$1995 4AGZE-supercharger gearbox +wiring ECU
i'm thinking of getting a blacktop because its newer i belive they're in lesser kms.

i have a bunch of questions
if i install the blacktop in, do i need to modify the engine mount?
what gearbox does it have with it? 6speed or 5?
can i connect the FE ECU in it and use my old wirings so i can drive it to an auto electrician to wire it with the 20v ECU? or just connect the 20v ECU hanging with it without connect anything to the dashboard?
do i need to change my fuel pump, bcos of the power output?
what else do i need to get?

i've went to a mechanic, he told me he did one those swap before and it cost $3000, because the CV doesnt lineup, and the crossmember doesnt fit.
 
G

·
swapping in a diffrent motor to a corolla is out of my league, but i'll give you a free bump. if it were me, I would go 4agze
 

·
The Return of the Red Coupe
2010 RAV4 V6
Joined
·
19,669 Posts
some quick answers to your questions

no, the engine mounts should line up (they're A series motors)
could be 6spd or could be a 5spd, blacktops came with both.
NO, just get a shop to do the wiring for you
you could get away with using the same pump, but I would say upgrade to a better one
money, lots of it. :)

The Silvertops are a cheaper option to the blacktops and the power difference is not much, but I would probably go with a GZE. :D
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
778 Posts
If its compatable to the toyota and its wired properly it might be ok. Ever heard of Bill Sherwood? He is regarded as one of the most knowledgeable ppl when it comes to the "A" series engines. He lives in australia and has his own website. Try looking him up too.
 

·
The Return of the Red Coupe
2010 RAV4 V6
Joined
·
19,669 Posts
lightpole said:
its a 94 model AE94 on paper.
http://www.toyotanation.com/forum/t131164.html
this threat is saying the same thing as the mechanic i've met, and i dont think its that easy to fit it straight in. do i need to change the strut and rotor still a problem.
does the 4AGZE fits in easier than the 20v? has anyone done this swap FE to GZE?
Actually that's wrong, it's an AE102; the AE9X cars were from 1988-1992

1993-1997 were AE101-AE102s.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,015 Posts
my advice is to get a whole front clip. they come with everthing. a buddy of mine just bought a engine with harness and he still needs to get more parts to make his swap works. so pay $500 more and save yourself the hassle of trying to find parts. 4afe should be the same as its a A chassis setup. only draw back is if its an ae92 it might be carbed and you'll need to change fuel tank possibally. not sure about later ae101 and such as they are not carbed. you also do not have the advantage of having rear disc and front sway-bar such as on the gt-s model. sure silvertop is more abundent but if your going to get a 20v why not pay more for the ultimate 1.6na toyota ever produced, not to mention you can run open itb from stock. however if power is all you want then i'd go with 4agze.

as for being 5-speed or 6 really depends on what clip/engine combo the cars model trim is. i believe only the BZ-R model ae111 got the close ratio 6-speed with helical LSD and superstrut standard. all other ae111 even with blacktop got a 5-speed and optional supertrut.

no you cannot use the 4afe ecu as none of the pins are the same and even if they were that ecu cannot control the 20v. you can send your both your harness to dr.tweak at phoenix tuning to get modified.

crossmember should not be much different. toyota use 3 of 4 mounts on the tranny side witch is usually always bolted to the crossmember (actually has 5 mounts but i don't really count the center bottom mount in). engine only has front mount and goes to the side of the car. besides C series tranny all use same mounts.

if he's charging $3,000 for that swap then don't bother with him. i don't know what model car you have and my expirance is based off of a ae92 gt-s and fx-16.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,036 Posts
it will bolt right in..... axles should be the same (unless toyota went with intermediate shafts as they did on the FWD gze's.... but i don't think they did).... you can use the stock hubs as well.

fuel pump will be more than adequate.... toyota vehicles are built a little different than say US cars.... their fuel systems are overbuilt then 'underutilized'...... basically the injectors and fuel pumps have a lot more to give than what they do from stock
 

·
The TN Member
ae101 levin&trueno
Joined
·
1,273 Posts
The axels are not the same, but both will work.
The gearboxes are similar, they will both fit either engine using either set of axels.

The 20v axles are equal length they have an intermediate shaft with a hanger (to stop torque steer) so they are a better choice.

The C52 20v box has better ratios and a lower diff, so is also the better choice.
 
1 - 20 of 20 Posts
Top