Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
New 2008 Highlander Base
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All, this is my first time posting on TN. Please provide an insight you might have. Tks!

I just brought a brand NEW 2008 Highlander Base 4WD (Blue color) with only 30 miles on it. After driving it for a few days, I notice there was a slight shudder/hesitation with the car when I try to accelerate between 30-40 mph. This shudder/hesitation does not happen all the time. It seems like it only happen when I accelerate over 40 mph and then let go of the gas pedal until the speed drop down to 20+ mph then accelerate again. This is when I will feel the shuddering/hesitation with the car when it is around the 30 to 40 mph range. This happen very sporadically and sometimes I can't even duplicate the problem no matter how hard I try. (FYI, I do not slam on the the gas pedal when accelerating, I accelerate & decelerate lightly and slowly.)

I have since took the car back to the dealership & the service dept found nothing wrong with the car. They told me that the car is probably still in the "Break-In" period and say if the problem persist after 1,000 mile, then bring it back to check again.

I am very concern about this problem. Any insight into this matter is greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

p.s. I never thought I would have this type of concern with a brand new Toyota. Not to mention the hassle of bringing the car back to the dealership on the second day.

·
Registered
569 Posts