1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, newbie here.
My ride:
2010 Camry 4Cyl 2.5L SE

Issue: Heater only work in park mode but not while driving. This one stumps me big time. I flushed my radiator with a prestone kit, new fluid, changed out thermostat (yes, I did performed boiling water test prior to installation - opens at 180F fine, no issue there), and even changed out the water pump too. I bleeded air for over 3hrs. No luck. I'm feeling like a bump now, totally lost on this one. Can't be the heater core, it flushed fine. No clog there. Flushed radiator fine, no clog there too.

In idle, both inlet and outlet hoses to the heater core were measured at 135F, cabin temp at 120F. So I got decent heat. The fan even turns on when the engine bay gets too hot. Upper radiator hose measured 160F, lower radiator hose measured 140F. No over heating issue. The gauge stays slightly below center at all time.

Now, I go for drive. 40mins later, it starts to blow cold air so I pull over. Felt the upper hose, measured 160F, lower hose 95F! Urgggghhh heck is going one? No fluid leaks, checked double checked trippled check, - no leaks. If I stay idle long enough it will heat up again and thermostat will open letting hot coolant through and temp will rise back to 140F and I will eventually get heats inside the cabin again. But as long as I'm driving, the lower radiator hose will always always stay cold.

I'm getting the opposite of most people when they experience this symptom, my heater only work in idle mode. Gosh what on earth could've gone wrong? Please help:)

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Could it be possible my blend door went bad so it sent signal to the engine to stop coolant flow to lower radiator hose? I went on Amazon it shows they have 2 types: