Toyota Nation Forum banner

2011 Rav4 - Fuel Pump Harness Wiring

1019 8
I'm trying to put a Fuel Pump killswitch onto my 2011 Rav4 but I don't know what color wires to cut in order to install the switch. Does anyone know which wires I am supposed to cut?
Electrical wiring Cable Gas Electrical supply Wire
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

· Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Use a meter or test light and see which gets power and when.
Thank you for your help! Yes, I forgot to mention that I tried to use a test light but, I'm not good at figuring it out how to use it. I viewed some videos on how to use a test light but still can't figure it out ...I know... I suck at this :( ... I was hoping that someone knew which color I have to cut. I believe it is one of the yellow cables but I don't know is the thick or thin looking one... :(

· Super Moderator
1995 T100 2WD & 1993 MR2
18,709 Posts
Don't take this wrong but if you can't use a test light you shouldn't be cutting and splicing into wires in the fuel pump circuit. There's more going on than power to the pump and a ground. This could easily go sideways on you and get very expensive.

· Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Yes Sir, I completely agree with you and that is the reason that I am seeking wisdom from the Toyota Nation guys and gals. Maybe someone who has done this in his or her same model of vehicle can assist me. Thank you!

· Registered
2013 Camry XLE
3,239 Posts
My question is why? If this is to be a theft deterrent, I would think an ignition kill would be easier. If it has to be a fuel pump kill why are you wiring it at the pump? Less wire running if you did it from behind the drivers kick panel. I think you can access the wires from there. I don’t have an electrical diagram for you, but it would sure be helpful for you to get one.

· Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·