Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2014 Toyota Avalon
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Started after pushing engine hard in Sports mode. Engine sounded like it didn't have any oil or as if oil pump wasn't working. Limped 18 miles home and 3 mechanic shops here in NYC say the engine is shot! Drove it home and tried to start it to take it to the dealership but it stalled 50 feet from home.

How hard is it to pull the engine out of our cars?

Any help is greatly appreciated!

·
Registered
2014 Avalon Hybrid,
495 Posts
Happy...not so lucky...: I have no knowledge of R&R of the ICE, but...your post begs more details. Exactly what aspect of the engine failed? Catastrophic oil failure? Are you the original owner? Maintained by the book? Driving history of the car?

(I'm at 85k miles, still smooth as silk, no issues since I bought it 2.5 years ago with 12k on the clock. DFW region, mostly highway miles.)

·
6,661 Posts
If it's a 4 cylinder engine, remove head, remove oil pan, drop connecting rods lower section down and push pistons with rods up and out. Replace rings and crankshaft bearings. Done. It's about 6-7 hr DIY job. Replace all gaskets same time, of course. As you mess with timing chain, replace tensioner and idler. It will be like a new engine. Toyota had major oil consumption issue with Camry engines, they came up with improved pistons... might not be a bad idea to do them too. That's if you do not want to take risks with used engine. Or, remove current one.

·
Registered
2014 Avalon Hybrid,
495 Posts
Thanks, ukrkoz, for the reasonably detailed instructions.

We still don't know WHAT failed, though! "...engine is shot!..." needs clarification, especially on an engine with only 94k miles on it.

·
6,661 Posts
If you ran down on oil, it likely seized. That is normally crankshaft bearings.

Engine sounded like it didn't have any oil or as if oil pump wasn't working.

But indeed, we do not know. Just a guess.

·
Registered