Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
2018 Camry XSE V6
2,885 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I've been using OpenPilot on my Camry since February 2020 and I love it. I finally got a GoPro Hero 8 camera so I'm able to record videos now. Below is my first video of OpenPilot in action. If you have any questions about it, let me know and I can try to answer them.

For the 2018-2020 Camry, OpenPilot works best if you have XSE/XLE or any of the hybrid trims because of Full Speed Dynamic Cruise Control (gas/brake/vehicle distance). For the camry it uses Toyota's stock cruise control but uses OpenPilot's lateral (steering) controls. As of now there is no way of using OpenPilot's Longitude (gas/brake) controls on the camry due to not having a DSU (Driver System Unit) or it does have it but its integrated into the radar so there is no way to remove it to give OpenPilot full control and not having TSS 2.0. You can swap out the radar with a TSS 2.0 radar but you'll lose AEB (Automatic Emergency Braking) and there will be times when the MID will light up like a christmas. I haven't done it though I am thinking about it. Since it uses Toyota's stock curise control, those who have an SE/LE/L, it'll disengage once you go below 32mph. It'll behave as usual.

OpenPilot works best on TSS 2.0 vehicles like the 2019+ Corolla Hatchback, 2020 Corolla Sedan, 2019+ Rav4, 2020 Highlander and etc. These cars are able let OpenPilot take full control without removing the DSU. 2021 Toyota Camry TSS 2.5 will most likely work and be one of the best vehicles to use OpenPilot on.

Check them out.

·
Registered
113 Posts
I've been using OpenPilot on my Camry since February 2020 and I love it. I finally got a GoPro Hero 8 camera so I'm able to record videos now. Below is my first video of OpenPilot in action. If you have any questions about it, let me know and I can try to answer them.