Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 20 of 61 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
For awhile now my wife has been telling me that gas spills out of the Highlander when she is filling up after the pump shuts off. I told her to use different pumps and she reported the same anomaly.

So I took it to get filled up and it spilled gas out after the pump shut off. Probably half a cup or more. Then I brought my truck back to the same pump, and it didn’t happen.

The dealer adamantly denies anything wrong with the car. Keeps saying over and over that the sensor is on the pump. Went on to say if they run diagnostics and nothing is wrong they will charge us.

I’m thinking there is something wrong with the gas tank vent but I’m not a mechanic. Anyone have any issues like this?

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1KkmNhu9rB-11TngyACZ-m05iEyTy5b8v/view?usp=drivesdk

·
Registered
2012 Camry SE V6
1,890 Posts
This happened to my wife once. But just once so far. I pumped gas in it a few times since with no issues and various gas stations..

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
This happened to my wife once. But just once so far. I pumped gas in it a few times since with no issues and various gas stations..

Sounds like yours was just a one timer hopefully. I can say though that out of the thousands of times I’ve filled up vehicles over 32 years, it’s probably happened two times. With this Highlander it happens 9/10 times. Maybe something wrong with the filler neck?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
'16 Highlander LTD
521 Posts
Do you run the fill up nozzle at wide open? I ask because in my opinion, the pump nozzle will shut off quicker and not over fill running wide open rather than at a slower fill speed.

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Do you run the fill up nozzle at wide open? I ask because in my opinion, the pump nozzle will shut off quicker and not over fill running wide open rather than at a slower fill speed.