Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, New here.

It is current 20 degrees and lower average this week. My corolla takeabout truly 20-30 mintues of driving at highway speeds to produce a reasonable amount of heat (compared to my past cars that take about 10) anyone else notice how slow this car takes to produce reasonable heat? I assume its due to a small displacement engine that is so efficient... Or is this an odd thingI should have dealership look at? 3k mile.

I am a DIY engine mechanic and aware of the odd things such as low coolant, blasting heat will cause engine temp to drop etc. I've ruled out everything and came to conclusions that these cars are so well made that it's nature of these corollas. Yes the thermostat gauge reaches operating tempture half way in about 10 mintues yet it's still Luke warm heat in cabin. Side note these blower mowers are underpowered and dealing with a mechanical buzzing sound at pretty much any fan speed, but that's another topic. Thank you!

·
Registered
112 Posts
While you think you’re turning the heater up, it’s possible that the controls are not actually connecting properly to your car’s heating system. Heater controls can get stuck, broken, or clogged. If you think you’re turning the heater up but it’s not getting warmer in the car, talk to your mechanic.

Sent from my SM-G970U1 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
414 Posts
Uuuhhhh I have issues with mine. I also have the 2.0 and get on the highway within about a minute, and after accelerating to 60, I can watch the temperature gauge rise in real time. And within a mile or two at highway speeds, it’s blowing hot. This is here in Florida where we see sub-30 for all of a couple days, but still nothing that bad.

This car does I believe have a shutter in front of the radiator. Maybe yours is stuck open so it’s getting cooled when it’s supposed to be heating up.

·
Registered
41 Posts