Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I have a 98 Corolla that slid off a snowy road went in a bank and the whole front of the car bent upwards.... and I need an engine for a grain auger.....
I am thinking of running the auger either through a belt drive from the transmission output OR hydraulically from a direct engine mount pumpset.

So this is the question.... how hard is it to get the engine to run standalone?
I am a HD mechanic and handy with electrical.... my only hope is the wiring dosmt get real messy.... i would like to delete much of what is not needed for standalone operation, and I don't want the check engine light on.
I will possibly run the gauge cluster.

Ideas, opinions please.
...oh... and the pic is of the engine I want to use..... it is a 3SFE.. right??
Forgive my ignorance... I'm not a real Toyota guy....

Attachments

·
Toyota Collector
11,833 Posts
Here's the thing, if you want to run the engine standalone you'll need to mount it, have a fuel tank with return line, exhaust system with O2 sensor (to avoid a CEL). You'll need most of the engine harness intact and some of the body harness (going to the fuel pump).

In other words the setup will be quite complex, there's a reason people that do similar projects use the simplest carburated engine they can find. It would be far easier to keep the engine in the car and run it that way.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Yea I realise it may be complex to most, but really how hard can it be? I have a fully equipped shop and all winter to do it :)
O2 sensor no problem.....
Fuel pump with return and pump no problem....
I'm curious if there is a transmission controller and or a body control module that are gonna muddle things up for me.
I am a licensed tech and electrical dosn' t scare me.