Toyota Nation Forum banner
1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, i'm a newbie when it comes to engine mods. I'm in the process of choosing an engine swap for my ae91. I want a reliable engine with enough power to pass the slow idiots on the highway. The car is intended to be a daily driver not for the track. Which engine do you guys suggest i buy? :confused:

·
Registered
see signature
366 Posts
for city, gze since it has low end torque...but i guess for higher rpm highway driving, 20 valve would be the way to go, since it emphasizes peak power...

my bluetop is just fine on the highway...but in slower traffic, i really gotta wind it up, but then again 4age isnt a torquey engine at all...i guess u just gotta know where the powerband of ur engine is...

anybody else?

·
Country Hick
2001 Nissan Pulsar
1,339 Posts
^^ I'm with him... If it's power on the street your looking at and dont care about fuel consumption, go with the gze. If hovever, you do care about fuel consumption and would like something for the highway (or even rally), go the n/a 20v.

The reason i say this is because the gze will always chew more juice due to the extra load of the supercharger, although not much from what i hear. The 20v tho, on the highway, drop it back a gear when passing and you instantly hit 'power band' which is about 5000-7000rpm. Considering those things with the C52 can do 140km/h in 3rd, you have 3 gears to choose from on the highway without any problem. They will also give you around 500km per 45L tank on the highway

They are also good for rally purpouses coz when rallying, the whole point is to keep the revs as high as possible for max. power, thus the engine always has VVT activated at least, if not it is in the 'power band' of the engine.