Toyota Nation Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok I was looking through ebay today and found a turbo kit for a tercel it is the CT-9 Turbo Kit and its only $200 if I get this can I just bolt it onto a stock 96 tercel engine or does it have to be the starlet 4-efe. I think it will just bolt on but Id like to be sure also do any of you know where I could find instructions on how to do this aswell. Thanks

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Ok Im kinda new to this stuff but what do you mean by fueling like the ecu and the emanage also can you get the harness and emanage off ebay aswell. If I cant figure out how to do it how much do you think a mechanic would charge me. Also what kinda exhaust work are you talking about like a muffler system maybe?

·
N/A bites
Paseo
5,861 Posts
The bad thing about going to a mechanic is the parts are all JDM and no books here will help the mechanic out. I'd love to say it'd go on and everything would be gravy but I'd rather be honest.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
CT-9 Turbos

So maybe that exact kit wont work but Ive heard of others on here that have put ct-9 turbo on a 5-efe so cant someone just lead me in the direction of getting a turbo on. Like what harness do I need and will I need a mechanic. And if I get a kit it looks like it would just bolt on bolt on but I could be wrong. I saw another one on ebay the other day for like $700 but if I could find one for like $500 then that would be great.

·
Got a FC3S!
92 Paseo/90 RX7
1,455 Posts
You need a custom frontpipe to connect the turbo downpipe and factory exhaust path. You could also stand to get bigger exhaust pipe all the way back. You will need some sort of way to run the car since your stock ecu isn't made for boost. So a emanage piggyback or a custom harness with a 4efte ecu. Also your injectors aren't big enough for turbo.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·