Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I have a problem with my 1983 Corolla with 4AC engine. It's not starting and when the time it happened I decided to put it in my garage for few weeks to check see if I can figure out what's the problem. Anyways after I sprayed with GUNK Carb/choke cleaner it starts after a few cranking. I drove it around the block and it seems like it's stalling so I turned around to head back home. I tried again the next day I did'nt start anymore. I have changed the spark plugs, spark plug cable, distributor cup and rotor, the ignition coil. It did'nt work. By the way the batt. is good but not new so I was jump starting it to make sure I have enough power. The starter seems ok, the mototor turns every time I turned the key to start. I have lights and radio etc. when the key to ON. Any of you guys had this kind of problem before? I'm not an expert in this kind of stuff. Also I found something behind my motor and on the top of the tranny right above the clutch housing and its a cable that seems snap/broke. I'm not sure where it goes, what it's for. ( see attached pics ). Does this do anything with the starting the car? I would appreciate for all the help...Thanks

Is this cable looks failiar? would this cause the car to not start?

G

·
0 Posts
looks like a throttle cable, but i think your car is carb. check FUEL PUMP, sounds like your car is gasoline deprvied

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
mY COROLLA is a carb...the cable in the photo is not a throttle cable i guess because my gas pedal is not loose when i step on it. I saw this cable on top of the tranny and in between the firewall and engine.

·
Registered
1988 Corolla SR-5
3,042 Posts
If you car is a an automatic, it might be the kick-down cable (A.K.A. down shift cable, transmission throttle valve cable)