Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,
I am not a mechanic nor am I good with fixing cars. I only know how to fix computers but I am a poor student. Therefore, I need to figure this problem out before I can take it to a mechanic for him to fix it. Being a poor student, I would like to know a few pointers perhaps I can do it myself to save me some bucks.
Here's the car specs:
87' Corolla, 4 door sedan. Front wheel drive, carburator.
Here's the problem:
At first the car hesitate a little going while in 3rd gear. When this happens, I push on the pedal a little and it goes away.
Now, the major problem is the hesitation. Any time I push on the pedal a little more than normal to accelerate, it hesitates, and the engine can stall at times if I don't let the pedeal go. If I push it lightly and slow then it's ok. The problem is going over the hill requires push the pedal a little deeper and this causes it to hesitate, shaking, then stalled.
I have changed the spark plugs to platinum Bosch 3 months ago which helps but now it happens again. So I changed the spark splugs again which helps a little but did not go away completely like before. I have changed the spark plugs cables 3 months ago. I also had the timing belt done at that time too. The fuel filter has been changed also. The air filter is rather new also as it was changed 4 months ago. Now the problem just got worse when it rains really hard today which I don't think has anything to do with the car trouble.
I am very afraid to take it to a mechanic as the bill always exceed $150 each time. Any help would be much appreciated.
Thanks.

·
nice guy
191 Posts
it might be your carb.

·
Registered
56 Posts
yep acc pump diaphragm is most likely it
it would be a good idea to rebuild the carb and make sure that when you put it back together that nothing falls out or is jarred
and it needs to be clean as a whisle:)