Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1991 Toyota Celica
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys. This is my first time posting and I really hope you can help me.. I have been looking all over for the original factory stereo that came in my 91 Celica GT-S. But I am having no luck. It's part of the 10 speaker system with the amp under the passenger seat. Does anyone know where I can find it?

Also I've read some posts that stated that your speakers don't work unless you have the original stereo because of the way they are wired through the amp. Is that true? or can I just buy a harness and install a newer deck and still run through the factory amp?

Any help you guys can give me would be greatly appreciated

·
Registered
91' Celica GTS
208 Posts
The car is wired correctly, you are just missing the Sys 10 Deck, 220W Amplifier and harness. The harness runs off the deck and goes to the amplifier before sending everything to the speakers. There is a grey unused plug located in the lower right behind the deck for the door panels.

I tried running an aftermarket stereo using the OEM amplifier. The two adapters made are missing a couple of connections for dimming and antenna control. In the end it became too much of a pain in the ass to try and make the amplifier work with an aftermarket deck, so I just rewired and installed my own under the seat. It is doable, you just get to solve the wiring mystery, and it isn't made easy. That harness messes with your head.

You will be way more happy with this option, especially if you go the route of Dolby Surround. At least the Sys 10 amplifier looks retro.

PS> I have the Deck, Amplifier and Harness if you are really interested in doing it. I need to ebay these things.

·
Registered
1991 Toyota Celica
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #4