Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to this and I don't fix car myself. I would appreciate your suggestions.

I've a 93 Tercel, it's rust-free and looks great in and out. It has new front brake, new battery, new spark plugs, even new front bumper. The only problem is that only 3 out of 4 cylinders are firing properly, and hence I can't get the car emission tested and drive it legally.

What can I do with it? We bought it new and we have low mileage (only 165K) on it. Does it worth to fix it and then sell it? Where can I found people/shops that would buy my car "as-is" and give me good money for it? I would hate to see my Tercel to go to a wreck shop.

Thanks.

Belinda
Ottawa, Canada

·
No BS ECTO/BYP Advocate!
99 Posts
You could ebay it. Plenty of aspiring Tercel tuners could give your car a good home if you decide to sell it. Check with Wedge, tdottercel an a few others here who are in your area that might know of some shops that do engine swaps their or can do a swap if you had an engine and get one that drops in from back yard productions.

DOTMREP

·
Registered
124 Posts
Have you determined what happened to the other cylinder? Something as simple as a bad spark plug wire could be at fault here. When you say its dead....my question is what part is dead; dropped or floated valve or spring? any spark to the plug? is the injector injecting fuel like it should?(dead or shorted injector) plug wire? Cylinders just dont die with age like we do, something has to be at fault; fuel, air and ignition are all needed to create combustion.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
We went to three garages, two couldn't find out what's exactly wrong although one suspected the injector is not injecting fuel properly. The third one told us that the engine is clogged and would take at least CAN$2000 to fix/clean.

If the third garage is correct, is there any cheaper way to clear the clog?

Thanks again for your help.