Toyota Nation Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone, I am new to this, so please be patient. I would like to thank everyone in advance for any help you may give. I have a 1999 Toyota Corolla with a lot of miles! It has been a great work car. I started having some problems recently that I just cant figure out. My check engine light had been on for some time, but the car was running fine. The car has 300k miles on it. Never had a problem. In the mornings when the car is cold, or after it has sit for a few hours and then engine is cold, the car doesn't want to start. It is like it isn't firing or getting fuel or something. I pulled the codes and it gave me a P0420 and P0115. As I said earlier, the light had been on for a while with no problems. I cleared the codes and the light came on again with P0420. I get the P0420 code everytime the light comes on and the P0115 occasionally. Anyway, I crank and crank and finally I will get the car started. It will run really rough for a just a little bit and then smooth out. From that point on it will run just fine with no problems. I just put brand new NGK plugs and new plug wires on the car, and that didn't fix my problem. Any thoughts?

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
It sounds like you have 2 separate problems. One, the cat is bad, or you have some cut vacuum lines. Two, your thermostat could be bad.
I know the research I have done says the the P0420 is the emissions system and could be catalytic converter, exhaust leak, Oxygen sensor, and on and on. I don't think I have an exhaust leak. The P0115 code says engine coolant temp sensor malfunction. I am not sure if either of these codes have anything to do with my starting problem. I guess that is what I am trying to figure out. The car is hard to start, but once I do get it started it seems to run just fine. :confused:

·
uʍop-ǝpısdn
1,917 Posts