Toyota Nation Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Newbie here and although I am an tenured technician, somethings still require the basics to repair. Purchased this little girl off of Craigslist for the sum of $500 with a "damaged engine." Since my daily at the time was a C2500 with 4:10's or a sadistic motorcycle ( i still own both) I knew I would save money purchasing this vehicle. Interior is a 9/10, exterior 8/10, unknown drive train.

Not much longer, water pump/timing belt later she runs with a nasty oil leak under the t-cover. Discovered the oil pump o-ring fiasco. Purchased a new, complete assembly and she's running, driving and omg howling !!!

So I start to address the immediate needs for a vehicle that has sat for an unknown length of time. After all is taking care of I have: speedo inop/incorrect. Major hesitation but not consistent. and the a fore mentioned howling.

This is about the hesistation, miss under decel/accel and poor performance. Lucky for me, a local pick a part has a 2000 model and the engine was untouched minus alternator. Grab some sensors, coils, wires, throttle body. I had been reading about this and some people come up with some wild a$$ repairs that cannot actually fix this issue. I tried sensors as some mentioned but no changes we noted.

Hesitation - best I can tell is the IAC gets stuck causing a metered vacuum leak. Poor acceleration, poor idle quality/speed, . The used t.b. was pulled apart, cleaned and the IAC was found stuck. Was able to free up this rotor and after installing I can say the hesitation is gone. Se has never accelerated this good since my ownership.

Miss - the donor vehicle has brand new stuff all over it. Coils and wires included. Snagged those, Installed with new spark plugs and I haven't been able to duplicate the miss. Some of this was seen with the hesitation.