Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hello, im a backyard mechanic and im stumped on a few things, i bought a 91 4runner 4cyl auto, and i failed the MA state insp with very high NOX levels, the engine seems to run pretty good but it gets horrible MPG around 12, the truck has 2 other problems im stumped on, any help would be greatly appreciated, when hot it is a little hard to start it turns over a few extra times, Also when the engine is running and the oil fill cap is removed allot of air and oil comes spattering out, is this normal ???
any help at all would be great, thanks
nate laflamm..

·
Registered
31 Posts
Also when the engine is running and the oil fill cap is removed allot of air and oil comes spattering out, is this normal ???
yeah

sounds like it's time for a major tune up, my mileage has never been great but 12mpg is just sad....

·
Banned
2,353 Posts