Toyota Nation Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
camry noob
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi everyone! I'm new to toyota and automobiles in general.. :whatwhat:
I drive my wife's old 93 camry, steadily approaching 180k miles.
I use it to go to work (15 min drive) and I would like it to last as long as possible.
This car never had any real problems, my wife said she changed timing belt a couple years ago. So I was thinking what to do in terms of maintenance.
So far - I changed oil in it, and put on 17" wheels with new tires..:cool:
Then I was thinking to change differential and transmission oil.
I asked wife, if she ever changed those, she said no, and said that a mechanic at dealership told her that if you never changed tranny oil, you shouldn't, as it will totally destroy it or something...
That sound like BS to me, what is it, an urban myth? old wifes tale??
:eek:

·
Registered
138 Posts
ok,

Let me start of with saying "use the search function" ,any combination of flushing and tranny will give you what you need.

That said,flushing will not harm a transmission in good condition(no delay,no jerking,no rough shifts etc..) .A good tranny will only get better with a flush.

Usually old tranny fluids have wear material suspended in them from usage.Sometimes the wear and tear parts are in such bad shape that the only thing that is providing the friction to grab and release components inside the tranny is the fluid...

New fluid is slippery and does not have the above mentioned material in it.Thus you fill it in a vbad transmission and the clutch packs and bands have nothing to bite on .thus failure....

so flushing a old transmission is a moderate gamble.if it aint broke dont fix it...a good hint is when a stealership says you DONT NEED IT ..

Also,180K for a camry is not much...there are a lot of 300k old timers hanging around revving just fine.
YMMV
keba

·
camry noob
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for answering!