Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Aloha Everyone, Newbie here in need of help.

1995 Camry, 4cyl., auto., 200,000 miles., not the original owner. Normal driving pre-covid was 30 miles a day, 4 days a week. Went undriven for a couple of early covid months, then used for a couple of shopping trips and ran fine. Suddenly having engine sputters when under load. Started a month ago, small sputter but mostly driveable, then within a week got severe and not safe to drive. Starts fine, idles fine when cold, hair over 1,000. When warmed up idle drops to 800ish and stumbles. Pressing gas pedal slow and steady, engine revs fine and clean. Pressing on gas pedal quickly/suddenly engine revs roughly. Pulling the "throttle check down (?)" vacuum line, engine idle increases to 1,800, and no sputtering when gas pedal pressed quickly. Driving under load starts to sputter, varying amounts of gas pedal feathering allows some acceleration and smooth running, but attempting higher speeds or more gas pedal pressure results in severe sputtering and lack of acceleration. But there is no CEL flash warning.

Plugs/gaps and wires seemed fine. Changed fuel filter first. Checked for vacuum leaks via spray method, no apparent leaks, no rpm change. Pulled EGR from top of pipe and plenum, cleaned, nothing appeared bad. Did not pull pipe from manifold. Compression checked and all 4 cyl. 200 +. EGR Modulator tested good. Spray cleaned throttle housing, butterfly, IAC opening. Did not remove/clean IAC. MAP tested bad so bought a new one. New ECT. Fuel pressure test results were good, 36psi normal, 40+ with pressure regulator hose off. Fuel pressure 36 under load. Intake Air Sensor tested good. Bought new Dist. Cap/Rotor.