Toyota Nation Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay. I'm still learning my way through all of this, so with my blunt knowledge of cars... I have gotten myself stuck. I was thinking of putting a 20v AE101 in an AE86. But, I have eventual plans for the engine, so, I need some info. I eventually want it turbocharged, and I was wondering what the best way to the turbo charged AE86 is. First off, some AE101 Q's.
1. Does the AE101 come as a 4-ague?(I think that's the code, the normal NA one :))

2. Is there a turbo charged AE101?

3.If there is an AE101 NA engine, if yhou remove the stock supercharger from a GZE, would it be exactly the same as the NA 4-ag?

4. Upon removing any turbochargers, superchargers, ect. from stock engine, liek the gze.. is it the same as the NA engine? e.g. Which is most powerful?

5. Does the AE101 have anything at all on the AE111?(Is it better in any way?)

Hopefully someone can help out this guy that obviously knows next to nothing about cars. :(

·
Country Hick
2001 Nissan Pulsar
1,339 Posts
1. The AE-101 Levin GT-Z comes with the 4A-GZE, while the Levin GT-Apex comes with the 20v 4A-GE. Both of these you will need to import from Japan, btw. The standard AE-101 that u get in the US and Canada comes with the 4A-FE which is the Economy head which has skinnier valve angles.

2. No there isnt a Turbo AE-101.

3. That's pointless to say the least... go with a Naturally Aspirated 4A-GE from an earlier model.

4. It really depends what you want... the 20v Silvertop is slightly higher revving than the GZE, and flows better - but the GZE has more low end Tourqe

5. The AE101 has a few good points and bad points... for a start, it has an Air Flow Meter, where the Blacktop in AE111 Levins has MAP. This can be changed tho. The Silvertop in the 101 has slightly stronger internals also, helping with boost applications. It can probably run about 6psi stock.