Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys I am new with ae86 so I have some guestions about it!

I am swapping a sr20det into my ae86 so what exactly do I need to do so?
I have the complete motor with tranny, minus ecu (sr20det), wallbro fuel pump, 180sx jdm harness(sr20det harness) complete uncut, so whatelse do I need to swap it into an ae86?

Thanks!

·
The TN Member
ae101 levin&trueno
1,273 Posts
Ummm....

You take out the old engine and put in the new one.

You'll only get help if you ask a specific question.

·
Registered
28 Posts
custom engine mounts, tranny mount, custom driveshaft, possible cross member modification, custom radiator, possible custom throttle cable many many more things. Your going to need that ecu if you dont run megasquirt or something. Going to be one hell of a wireing job as well.

·
The Return of the Red Coupe
2010 RAV4 V6
19,669 Posts
www.dorikaze.com

one of the guys there put together an AE86 with an SR20DET last year, however he already took it apart and sold it for parts.. because it wasn't enjoyable enough, it was mainly a track car because it wasn't really enjoyable or driveable on the street.

Do research dude, no one that I know on this site has done a similar swap, so chances are demanding questions here is gonna get you nowhere. :)

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Yes I know that is going to be kind hard find good info for this type of swap but that is ok! I am getting enought info from here and other forums out there, that is ok i really appreciate those who can give any good info!
Thanks all of you guys and I hope get as much as possible info to make my ae86 a really fast and driveble car possible!
And Ren69 what made your friend to say that the ae86sr is not a driveble street car!?
Thanks man!

·
The TN Member
ae101 levin&trueno
1,273 Posts
You have the standard ECU + Loom right?