Toyota Nation Forum banner

AE92 Corolla GTS wont start

1K views 18 replies 9 participants last post by  gen4.5camry 
#1 ·
I got my first car months ago (project car), and it ran very roughly. Since then I've fixed the tension pulley, serpentine/V-belt, ignition column switch, and new battery. After I fixed the tension pulley and V-belt, it wouldn't start at all, so i thought it was the ignition and then the battery but it still wont start. There is a cable unplugged to the top-left of the engine and can't find where it plugs into. Any advice would be great, I'm new to fixing cars so noob lingo would be appreciated!!!

#17 ·
I'm looking at my 88 gts electrical manual (i know yours is an 89 but this is all I have) and that connector is for a VSV for the Fuel Pick Up near the passenger side of the fuel rail....one wire is black with red stripe and one is light green according to my manual.

#5 ·
That sure looks like a switch or sensor connector. It looks like it is a 2-wire connector. In that area of the engine, there is a water gauge temperature sensor (which I believe is a 1-wire connector), a knock sensor (which I also believe is a 1-wire connector), or an EGR Gas Temperature Sensor (which I don't think you have - would have been for California emissions vehicles only). I don't think that connector is used on VSV's (vacuum switching valves). If the length of wire involving that particular connector is short, you should be able to look in the area that wire length could cover to see if there is a mating male connector that is brown that is not connected - at least I would hope you can.

Was some work done recently to that engine where that connector may have been disconnected and someone forgot to reconnect it?

#8 ·
Though you may have something unplugged, also keep in mind that these cars were pre-wired for many different things that your car might not have.