Toyota Nation Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All;

I'm new to working on a Toyota and I don't know the quality of the various parts brands available. In the past, we always took our Toyotas to the dealer and all repairs worked well.

However, I have a 8th Gen Corolla (2002) and to economize I am doing the repairs.

So, the question is: Which parts should I buy at the dealer? Which brands should I stay away from? And, which brands are OEM or have a reputation for high quality?

If it helps, I'm rebuilding the front end - brakes, struts, mounts, bushings, etc.

Thanks!

·
Dishin out facts
1999 rolla
495 Posts
Hi All;

I'm new to working on a Toyota and I don't know the quality of the various parts brands available. In the past, we always took our Toyotas to the dealer and all repairs worked well.

However, I have a 8th Gen Corolla (2002) and to economize I am doing the repairs.

So, the question is: Which parts should I buy at the dealer? Which brands should I stay away from? And, which brands are OEM or have a reputation for high quality?

If it helps, I'm rebuilding the front end - brakes, struts, mounts, bushings, etc.

Thanks!
Depends on the application. Remember sometime you can get away with the fact your buying from OEM who makes the OE. Aftermarkets a hit or a miss

Brakes: the rotors Toyota sells are brembo Blanks relabeled. I upgrade Caz the OE pads which are oem akebono pads are not inspiring, so I went hawk hps.

Struts and mounts depends what you want to invest in. The car. For least cost get a quick strut from rock auto or any MNC (gabriel fcs, etc). If you want to use OEM then go quick strut from KYB.

Bushings: Toyota only, upgrade to poly as an upgrade.

·
It will handle soon
98 Corolla
207 Posts
Hi I've done pretty much all the repairs a 300k km or 186k miles car would need wich means everything :lol: