Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hmm... Where do I start..

I'm a rookie car fixing guy... A.k.a. not a mechanic...

Topped my ac ... Put too much in...
Got some professionally devacc'd..

Now this sound won't go away since the past 2 days...

Cooked ac clutch?

Any thoughts...?

·
イリジウム
13,702 Posts
I'm not sure what the rumbling and then a sort of squeak at the engine shut off is. That's even with the AC (and fan) turned off before shutdown?

Was it a true full-evacuation and then recharge with the proper amount? It'd be nice for the shop to provide low and high side working pressures. I'd say let a shop look at it. That doesn't sound good.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Ya... Umm.. I had a friend with a set of guages and an evac can take some back to relieve some pressure..

... Not a full devac...

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I'm not sure what the rumbling and then a sort of squeak at the engine shut off is. That's even with the AC (and fan) turned off before shutdown?

Was it a true full-evacuation and then recharge with the proper amount? It'd be nice for the shop to provide low and high side working pressures. I'd say let a shop look at it. That doesn't sound good.
... Tow it to a shop...and not drive it to a shop... ?

·
イリジウム
13,702 Posts
So the noise happened AFTER your friend touched it? ;)

At least in the US, that generation of Corolla should have a compressor clutch, which means the compressor won't be turning with the AC off. Not sure about the Canadian market.

If there's a clutch and it isn't engaged, then you can drive it as the compressor won't be turning anyway (at least not supposed to). It may be the clutch or something else making the noise and likely not the compressor itself, which means it's an easier problem with the belt drive system.