Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
190 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
got in to an accident last week....minor I assume since there was no frame damage just cosmestics...fender, hood, bumper....so was goin replace them and paint them....I got quote for painting the 3 pieces and they weren't pretty prices....so I since I got an air compressor at home...I ordered to good quality spray guns...and found a local shop that sells paint and primer and clearcoat...it wasn't expensive to get those...now whats the tips of the trade in painting....im a mechanic....but when it comes to body work and painting...Im clueless....any knowledge would be greatly apprecaited....

Thanks, Kevin

·
Pimpin' In Paradise.
2000 Toyota Camry
339 Posts
Yeah guys, I really would like to know about this also. The paint on my spoiler is bubbling (never buy prepainted stuff off ebay), and I've been getting ridiculous prices to have it repainted. 300 dollars!!! and I don't think it's being painted with the blood of 30 virgins either, so please, I would love to be able to do this myself if it's not too hard to do.

3,032 Posts
I would like to know how to do this too... this would be good for a sticky.
I plan to change gold to something more unique on my TC sometime in the near future.

Also, if there are recommendations on
Paints
Spray guns
Sanders
Sand Paper
(brand names also)

That would help a bunch.

·
Registered
40 Posts
i always just use the "rattle-can" touch up paint... i've never used a spray gun b4, would be nice to have tho :(

·
Registered
1,663 Posts
well i painted cars before but its not A+++ stuff but tis like a good job ...i always get abit of dust on it but its a overall good job

·
Lives For The Curves
93 Camry
1,546 Posts
Yes! Perfect sticky material! Especially since no one knows how yet! :rolleyes:

·
Registered
764 Posts
if you want a detailed description oof the task at hand, send me a pm, im a body man

·
The terrorist
1990 Corolla SR5
3,058 Posts