Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Vehicle: 2004 Highlander V6.

My front driver-side caliper piston is definitely seized. And as much as I really like and prefer OEM Toyota parts I'm also trying not to go broke. Rockauto lists: Cardone, Nugeon, Powerstop (in bright 2fast2furious red). But I have zero experience with these aftermarket brands.

Also if I replace a caliper does that automatically require a rotor + brake pad replacement at the same time? And is there any harm if only one caliper on one side is replaced?

·
Super Moderator
1995 T100 2WD & 1993 MR2
6,350 Posts
I don't know the other brands but I and many others haven't been impressed with Powerstop Products. Some pads are okay. Rotor condition will determine if it needs to be replaced. If your using a comparable caliper, I don't see an issue of replacing one. Good idea to replace the pads but even that can be decided on inspection. Thickness, glazing or heat damage.

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I don't know the other brands but I and many others haven't been impressed with Powerstop Products. Some pads are okay. Rotor condition will determine if it needs to be replaced. If your using a comparable caliper, I don't see an issue of replacing one. Good idea to replace the pads but even that can be decided on inspection. Thickness, glazing or heat damage.
Darn... the only Caliper, Rotor and Brake Pad Kit on Rockauto is Powerstop. What were the biggest problems that you had with Powerstop products?

·
Registered
1 Posts
I just replaced all the calipers last month on my 2007 V6 AWD with Cardone from RockAuto. The initial quality seems fine to me. They have a nice thick coat of paint, so hopefully they don't rust. I'm happy with them so far. I also replaced the rotors and pads because they needed replaced.