Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im a newbie to the toyota nation, so let me say hello.
I wanted to know what some fellow Camry owners thought were the best performance upgrades for the gen 4 (2.2/auto)
I know of Intakes from Injen and Weapon R, and have seen quite a few bodykits, also plan on getting some wheels this summer and was thinking 17's.
But, I want to know what else is out there that WORKS, and is cost effective (have a limited budget) suspension, brakes, electronics, etc. or anything that adds hp.

·
Registered
1990 celica All-Trac
161 Posts
try new exhaust setup, with high preformance cat, or just without it. if you get it done locally the cost shouldn't be too bad, just shop around for a bit. don't forget your normal tuneup, and if you're feeling adventurous look into a new ignition system.

·
Ford Powered
1999 Ford Mustang
439 Posts
exhaust won't help too much on the stock internals. you'd need to do some buildup work like wraith's turbo cam for it to be any major help.

·
Registered
1990 celica All-Trac
161 Posts
you'll get preformance, yes. but is it cost effective? well, i don't think so. you'd have to swap engines or heads first, then build up, and then start forced induction. might be cheaper to just buy an mr2, not that i don't love my camry though...

·
The Asian Sensation
1996 Lexus SC300
904 Posts
EggBeater59 said:
try new exhaust setup, with high preformance cat, or just without it. if you get it done locally the cost shouldn't be too bad, just shop around for a bit. don't forget your normal tuneup, and if you're feeling adventurous look into a new ignition system.
what would a new ignition do for performance?

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I really dont want exhaust at this point, and when/if I do I want it subtle (not too loud or big)
I was thinking of a CDI type ignition, such as MSD.