Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone, I'm new here and hope to get soen good advice from yall. I have a 2006 highhy awd with close to 270k miles. The car has been trouble free up till this point. There seems to be a big leak coming from near the oil filter. Because theres so much in that area it's hard to tell for me where its coming from, im fairly sure it's not the valve cover gaskets as theres no oil coming from them. Its leaking all over the exhaust manifold and burning smoke. I had a mechanic check it out and he says it might be the heads leaking, now I'm not a mechanic but wouldnt that also mean I'm supposed to be leaking coolant as well? I will post a pic soon.

·
7,082 Posts
No. It depends which part of head gasket is ruptured to the outside. It, also, may be cracked engine head. So a pressure and leak down tests are indicated.
Was vehicle ever overheated?
How do you KNOW it's not valve cover? Those are notorious about leaking oil in the rear.
You do have V6, right? Rear valve cover oil leak was a plague on those engines.
Please, wash engine rear with engine cleaner and pressure washer, as much as you can. Then, buy contrast dye and UV light. It WILL show where leak is coming from. Car lift will be most beneficial.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I cant say for sure it's a valve cover gasket. Here's some more pictures, but it looks like it's coming from the front passenger side. I'll try what you said and check it out

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I'm not sure how much anyone can tell form these pictures, but they sort of show you the overall region of where theres the most oil

·
Registered
8 Posts