Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Carne Asada Taco
2007 Tacoma
199 Posts
I'm running the Phillips Vision Plus H4s, and 100w fogs to match. Pretty damn bright, and the headlights are actually legal. I had to aim them down after the 5100 lift since the truck was no longer nose down. I would get flashed all the time before that.

·
aka David Neubeiser
Paddle Board
285 Posts
What's the brightest easy-to-find and legal headlight I can buy for my '08 taco?
I run PIAA super white bulbs with 9005 in the fog lights. 9005 will fit with a very slight modification and they are very bright. 100% street legal too. :clap:

http://piaa.com/Bulbs/BulbsAbout.html

PIAAs are a little on the pricey side. I paid around $60 a pair but they are 100% worth it IMHO.

·
Theatre Nerd Person...yea
Tacoma
1,969 Posts
I'm a Theatrical Lighting Designer and I can tell you there isn't really a true answer to that. It depends on a ton of factors. If you're talking lumens then Sylvania Silverstars are pretty bright and easily obtainable. Color Temperature matters a lot too...some people are more or less sensitive to higher color temperatures. Most people can't see as well with the higher color temperature lamps because they aren't used to them. It matter more then lumens most likely as pretty much all lamps you will find are the DOT legal 55w/65w variety and they will all put out pretty much equal lumens. We live in a low color temperature world and our eyes are used to the 1500°K to 6000°K color temperature because that is the temperature range of the sun and most indoor incandescent lighting. Our eyes have become developed to pick up lower color temperatures more readily. You wont be able to see as well with color temperatures brighter then 7000°K no matter how many lumens they put out. Also the Kelvin rating has nothing to do with brightness just FYI. I personally like to stay in the 6000°K range and I would suggest anyone else do that same. Grab some Sylvania Silverstars in the 6