Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
367 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I am a new member. My name is Josh and I am from Cleveland Ohio. One day my friend and I went to look for a new car (my 93 civic is wearing out) in the Akron area. One lot had a few american cars like the contour and lumina but it had 3 camrys!
we looked into them and all 3 were manual trans. camrys! my friend told me to come here to ask about these cars. i thought camrys were automatic!

it had two 92=96 models and a 97-01 model. I am new to camrys so i don't know jack.
the beat up one had black window surrounds and a spoiler and it said SE V6 on the back. It had power windows, locks, etc. It was a 92-96 model apparently. That i do know. it also had body colored side moldings.
a nicer camry had chrome window surrounds, no spoiler, black side moldings but no V6 emblems. there was manual windows and locks, a manual tranny and i didn't even see a tape player. it did have air and a tachometer tho.
the third camry was a newer 97-01 model. it said it was a CE ? and it had the V6 badging on it like the SE, same script, but chrome, not black? the newer camry had a tape player unlike the 2nd one but it was still manual windows locks not like the se. it was weird to see all these camrys at once, and to have all three camrys in the same lot.
i grew up thinking camrys were all automatics. i was wrong. i have a civic auto, and i wanted a camry auto, but now with arab-opec and the gas crisis now i want the camry size but with civic fuel economy. i might have to go manual, even tho i'm not too good driving it right now...i can learn ;)
do any of you like manual camrys or own one? my catholic girl ex-friend :mad: :mad: has a camry without badging, a 92-96 one but it has cloth seats, power windows locks, air, but it's not a V6-in fact there is no badging on it at all! it's like the manual one i mentioned but it has an automatic. .... bewildered.

well...
anyway...