Toyota Nation Forum banner

California Emissions EGR VSV discontinued, 95 Camry 2.2

1235 Views 31 Replies 8 Participants Last post by  Splieslife
Hello,
I’m an intermediately skilled mechanic. I have a California emissions 95 Camry 2.2 that has an erratic idle when warm. After going through IAC valve and other first checks including replacing aging vacuum lines, all signs point to the EGR and EGR Vacuum Switching Valve being the likely culprits.
I wanted to buy a Toyota EGR VSV so I could move it to the firewall. However, Toyota tells me that the California emissions EGR VSV (Toyota #25860-74160) is discontinued and a brief search on the internet indicates this part is hard to find.
World Schematic Map Font Line

Above is a diagram that I obtained from the dealership. The top is federal, the bottom is California. You’ll notice that the two parts look different, the California part looks like two of the federal parts stacked on top of each other. Conversation and limited research has indicated that the California EGR VSV may have a third vacuum line going somewhere. It’s been hard to find information or a video that is specific to California emissions.
I’m just looking for insight and suggestions on locating this part. Some sites will indicate that their part will work for a 25860-74160 such as this;

https://www.sixityauto.com/aisin-vs...0-3092000871.html?find=1995-toyota-camry-3753

Font Rectangle Material property Screenshot Parallel

I’ll probably scoop this part and give the firewall move a try. If anyone has any info on differences between California and federal EGR VSV and related vacuum hose routing, it would be very helpful. As you all know, the EGR VSV is in a difficult location; my goal had been to just unplug the electrical connection and plug back into my new part on the firewall with the two lines going to the EGR and EGR Vacuum Delay Valve as is standard with federal emissions.